Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 28 June 2017
Aaron deserves an artist that can actually draw a depiction of events with clarity. The layouts and muddled panels are a headache
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
Following the events of "Schism", Wolverine and some other mutants have left Utopia and headed back to Westchester to rebuild the mutant school Charles Xavier began and rename it the "Jean Gray School for Gifted Youngsters". The faculty is Headmaster Logan and Headmistress Kitty Pryde, Vice Principal Hank McCoy, and professors Bobby Drake aka Iceman and Rogue.

"Wolverine and the X-Men" is Jason Aaron kicking back and writing a book for laughs and light-hearted storylines. With the new school opening, school inspectors are sent round for what turns out to be a nightmarish first day with Wolverine (wearing a tie!) does his best to appear respectable but with the pre-adolescent Hellfire Club (again, see "Schism") showing up, he and his fellow X-Men are going to have be anything but respectable to see order is restored.

I really enjoyed this book with Kid Quantum aka Quentin Quire proving to be the most fun character in the book, acting and looking like a junior Spider Jerusalem. Some of his antics actually made me laugh aloud. It's also funny and odd to see Wolverine attempt to be a teacher but he does well and shows that he's more than a vicious marauder-type. I liked Kitty and Hank as well, they're excellent characters in the hands of a gifted writer such as Jason Aaron.

The art is the only let-down of this book, the first three issues drawn in a scratchy, manga-esque style that doesn't look very good. And the other negative is how short the book is at a mere 4 issues collected here. Not exactly value for money...

The book ends on a baffling epilogue but the setup is done with and the series can continue in a kind of semi-serious tone with the fledgling school and its staff seeing off its first threats at closure and settling down to some fun. It feels a bit like a Terry-Pratchett Discworld story (I'm thinking of the mini-Nightcrawlers causing havoc) crossed with classic X-Men storylines, with some genuinely funny moments. "Wolverine and the X-Men" is a good, fun time from the best comics writer working at the moment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Maybe you have read in the web how good this book is. I can only tell you: it is that good. The approach of Jason Aaron is singular in the history of the X-Men although there are not few great writers who have contributed to this mainstake feature of the Marvel Universe. (Mild spoilers ahead:) Making Wolverine the headmaster of a new school for gifted youngsters is a new interpretation of one of Marvel's most multi-facetted characters. And the approach is odd both storywise and in style with a lot of humor. Characters of all periods of X-Men history pop up, partly in new incarnations. It is genial blending of tradition and contemporary interpretation of the Marvel mutants, the story has many layers and a lot of suspense and action. Chris Bachalo's art is sometimes congenial, sometimes a bit confusing (I had to watch some panels for some time to figure out what they showed). Nick Bradshaw, who drew the fourth issue took me a bit getting used so, but he is a great graphic storyteller.
My only complaint is that packing only four issues (Wolverine & the X-Men #1-4) and a little bit of bonus material into a pricey hardcover does not seem very customer friendly. So highly recommended, but you might want to wait for the trade paperback or maybe later an Omnibus to be expected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
I find myself actively disliking Cyclops and the atrocious AVX setup lines of ' we are the most powerful team in the world' and similar nonsense he kept spouting in Uncanny X-Men volume 1 ( still, at least there's an explanation for Cyclops' more hardcore stance these days, unlike our beloved Captain Britain.....)

This series is far more akin to the fantastical, derring do heroics of old that made the X-Men the best team to follow. Interesting, well thought out storylines and the typically great artwork you'd expect from Bachalo ( again a nice counterpoint to the ridiculous porn star-traced, over expressive pencils of Greg Land).

I've had to cut down the amount of titles I collect drastically these days to my core favourites to make some space, and this is one of them, a great start to the series and a really nice antidote to the overly macho posturing of the Uncanny X-Men.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
No Spoilers. So Wolverine decides to build a new X-men academy and become the headmaster with a couple of regular characters taking teacher roles. This first volume mainly concerns trying to give the safety inspectors a tour whilst students are disruptive and the new Hellfire Club try to kill them all. This is really good fun, clever, witty, smart and a little touching in places but the first of essentially a 12 Volume Arc so don’t expect much closure. The art style is vibrant, colourful and cartoony but in a way that suits the story and is quite unique. Here’s the reason I loved this: Wolverine and our regular heroes are their usual awesomeness but all these new kids are brilliant. At it’s heart this is their story and you instantly become attached to them all. You care about their problems such as bullying, being a mutant, really dark pasts, chasing girls and their popularity on Twitter. Their egos, relationships and insecurities are really well observed aspects of teenage life and the day to day life of a boarding school for teenagers is usually glossed over in X-men comics. All these kids were new characters to me but if you’re an expert you’ll know them from previous comics. It’s Worth Reading but you’re going to want to buy the next one straight after. How can you not love a comic where Wolverine wants to take a teenage mutant terrorist and instead of locking him in prison and becoming a super villain, put him in a school and give this frightened isolated kid a chance. Yeah…it got to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
EVERY ABOUT THIS TRADE FROM THE ART, HUMOR, CHARACTERS, PLOT, PREMISE, CONCEPT.. EVERYTHING JUST MAKES IT COMPLETELY ASTOUNDING. IF YOU AREN'T READING THIS SERIES... WELL YOU SHOULD START.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I love reading this series. It doesn't make you read other series' to keep up with the story. This is what is needed more in superhero comics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
new book from a great character i love it from the begining to the end
hope it has alot follow ups
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
delivery was fast and the item is as described
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse