Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 July 2005
I first bought the original version of this live cd back in 1995 and enjoyed it immensely on a long car journey to Munich. It struck me at the time that this could only be a small part of the original concert at the Glasgow Barrowlands. Sure enough, here it is in its full glory, the whole concert including in-between track banter from the great Stuart Adamson. Introducing themselves as the 'support act' Big Country launch into an acoustic set that showcases their dexterity as musicians and ability to secure their audience participitation. In the present political climate, the rendition of Rocking in the Free World is a must. What scores ultimately is the transition from acoustic to out and out electric attack from a band that can hold its with the best of them. Check out 'What are you Working For' and 'Steeltown' for sheer rock indulgence. Remember this band supported Page and Plant back in 1995, check this out and see why. One of the best live albums ever!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2008
To lead one of the most underrated bands ever to come out of the UK, one can only imagine the torment and frustration of Stuart Adamson. And this concert, this one gig of thousands, tells you exactly why Big Country rates amongst the best guitar bands ever. Forget their pionering 'bagpipe' sound that would stir the blood of anyone, let alone the Scots, forget the rhythm section that would power a space shuttle, the sublime interaction of Stuart and Bruce. Instead, immerse yourself in the inspired renditions of their finest hour, in their granite interpretations of several classics but most of all gain insight to one of the greatest bands of our time, in their dignity whilst those with less talent than in Stuart's little finger rose to 'greater' heights, in their effortless display of skillset that is simply breathtaking and sadly, into a mindsight that gives away a little of their undeserved future. Shame on you, music industry, shame on you, facile consumer, for foresaking a band of this magnitude. We can but grasp at what was, and celebrate that we have it rendered in DTS.
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2008
Fortunately, I was at this gig at the Barrowlands. I saw Big Country on numerous occassions including their support of Queen at Knebworth in August 1986, but in my opinion this was Big Country's finest hour eclipsing even their performance at the Glasgow Apollo in October 1984.
Everything was just right - the band played magnificently and the Barrowlands' crowd responded accordingly, and then some. My only regret is that I missed the start of the accoustic set as I was not aware Big Country were actually supporting themselves by opening with an accoustic set. In terms of the music this is a must buy if you like Big Country or if you appreciate great songs from a band that really could cut it live -2,3,4 where did the feeling go!!!!!! - well it hasn't gone and long may Stuart's spirit live on.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2008
The whole gig re-released - I could never understand the way record companies would only release half a BC gig. The gigs were epic just as their songs were anthems. Probably the best band in the world ever. Stuart probably the nicest guy ever. This electric set was some of the hottest form of their careers. STAY ALIVE!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2010
This double CD is simply divine and should rank as one of the greatest ever live recordings. The musicianship is superb, the interaction with the audience quite wonderful, and the whole performance crackles with the excitement that was and forever will be Big Country. Unique, brilliant and enduring.

Anyone fortunate enough to have not just seen (as if!) but been swept along on emotional roller-coaster that was a B.C concert will already know that this was one of the best bands ever, unsurpassable as a live act. For the curious, just buy this fantastic recording and enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
As far as I'm concerned, this album ranks up there with "Live and Dangerous", "It's Alive" and "If You Want Blood..." as one of the greatest live rock album ever produced. This reissue cleaned up the sound to crystal clear precision - you can hear every splash and crash as the Octopus works his magic. It's worth the price just to hear the drums alone. More importantly, all of the tracks played at that magical night at the Barra are now available to give a proper indication as to how special Big Country and Stuart really were. The band are on fire and the versions of 'Wonderland' and 'In a Big Country' are the finest you'll ever hear. I still can't listen to 'Alone' without feeling sad at how prescient the chorus became in that Florida hotel room but that shouldn't detract from how wonderful this album is. Buy it at any cost and may all your nips be doubles! Stay Alive.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2012
This has to be the best live album I have ever heard.The audience participation makes the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end.I think Big Country are the most underated band ever ,this recording proves they are up there with the best of them.This is worth 10 stars let alone 5.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2014
After releasing the best rock cd of the decade, Big Country topped it by bringing out the best live cd....this was the most fantastic time in my Big Country's fan time. Brillliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2014
What can you say stuart bruce tony and mark showing these new bands what good music should sound like live and how to perform.a few new bands should listen and learn.big country were and still are fantastic live.mr adamson was king on stage a great man in every way sadly missed but what great songs he left us to enjoy and remember
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 July 2010
This would have been so much more enjoyable if around twenty minutes has been cut, but I'm not talking about the music. On the Cd cover are the words: "The Full 1993 Glasgow Barrowland Show". And it means what it says. In other words it includes all the audience applause, cheering, whistling, stamping, and joining in on the songs which is often really distracting. I'm not against this completely; it's a live concert after all, but judicious editing can still convey the flavour without it getting in the way of the music which is what most people who buy this actually want to hear.

As for the music, it's fine though I'm not as enamoured of the acoustic section as some people -I came for loud electric guitar. Unexpected bonuses are a couple of Neil Young covers, one from the acoustic and one from the electric sections, which I'm always up for.

This is a good live album but it's spoiled for me by an excess of audience contributions.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)