Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

With The Lights Out
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£39.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 October 2014
Was a present, person is happy enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2011
I bought this as a gift for someone who is a huge Nirvana fan.
They loved the present and listen to it time and time again!
A must for any fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2004
As a long running fan and someone who has heard pretty much all that was available officially and on bootleg, I figured this would just be a collection of some cleaned up versions of previously bootlegged material and b-sides / compilation rarities. I couldn't have been more wrong.
The first disc is brilliant and finally gives us Bleach-session tracks like Pen Cap Chew and If You Must, the original (but canned) Love Buzz b-side Blandest and the awesome Clean Up Before She Comes with it's layered vocals. Oh, and Beans.. haha.. you will love this one!
Disc two provides my only slight let down - Opinion is an amazing song (short and sweet as it is) and the version here is obviously the better quality pre-broadcast version so it sounds better than any bootleg release - but the tape has obviously suffered over time and warps in the middle of the track. A real shame as I adore this song. Other highlights are the great Verse Chorus Verse and Old Age - nice to hear these finally.
Disc three is also a gem - early demos and mixes of In Utero material - alternative versions of rare tracks like I Hate Myself.. rather than the Beavis & Butthead release are a real surprise. This cd also contains the real star of the set - the quite superb Do Re Mi - rough around the edges but shows amazing promise of where Kurt was taking himself musically and this makes this song even more poignant as it's a real waste he chose to go out on us in the way he did.
The dvd is a great addition and hopefully marks the spot for future - hopefully whole concert - releases by Geffen / Universal as they are great band to watch.
I cannot recommend this enough to both new fans and old alike.
11 Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2004
This boxset is almost perfect. It only has one problem: some songs are "too" touched by the studio. For instance, in "Return of the Rat" (same version can ben found in one of the Outcesticides) you don't hear Kurt's coughing (which was practically part of the song). Mainly, the good thing is that you can hear (and see) demos and old versions of the songs with a decent quality. For instance the rehearsal demo of Heart Shaped Box is too good. And Rape Me, which I particulary don't like, sounds great in the demos. Highlights? Old Age and Do-Re-Mi. It's a pity though that we can find a full version of Do-Re-Mi with the whole band. This box-set is a must.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2006
This collection is the history of Nirvana. A timeline spanning from 1987 to 1994 over 3 discs, 85% of this is previously unreleased. It features early live recordings, radio performances, a bunch of demo's, b-sides, studio outtakes, re-mixes and accoustic versions of songs you've probably heard before, but not like this.

Some of the demo's are better than the finished studio product from previous albums and accoustic versions of songs like 'lithium', 'been a son', 'sliver' and 'serve the servants' are interesting to hear stripped down.

Highlights for me include - from disc 1

'Heartbreaker' a live cover of the classic Led Zeppelin song

Live versions of 'Downer' and 'Floyd The Barber'

accoustic 'beatlesque' versions of 'polly' and 'about a girl'

and demo's of 'Dive', 'They Hung Him On A Cross' and 'Aint't It A Shame'

from disc 2 demo's of 'Drain You' with Dave Grohl on Bass and 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' and the re-mixed version of 'Breed'

the 3rd disc is from the 'In Utero' sessions which is my least favourite of Nirvana albums but still features great demo's of 'Rape Me', Heart-shaped box' and a killer 10 minute version of 'Scentless Apprentice'. Also includes 'Do Re Mi' and 'You Know You're Right' which I believe were the last songs Kurt ever recorded.

The box also includes a DVD which features an awesome live version of 'Love Buzz' from 1990, and an illustrated 60 page booklet with a timeline, highlights of live shows and quotes from producers and band members and friends.

Enjoy...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2006
With The Lights Out will definitely be worthy of investigation by the more dedicated Nirvana fan. The box set is split into 3 CDs - each relating to the corresponding studio album - and a DVD. Each CD consists mainly of demos, outtakes and rehearsals, some of which rival the final studio versions, a few are instantly forgettable. The most intriguing disc is the one comprising the Bleach era recordings, which features many unknown early tunes, Kurt's fantastic Leadbelly covers and the few recordings with the Melvins' Dale Crover on drums. One of the most interesting tracks is Beans - a knockabout acoustic track with varispeed vocals. It's by no means the greatest thing Kurt wrote, but it's a reminder that Nirvana always had a sense of humour, something that is occasionally forgotten... CDs 2 and 3 feature the more familiar songs of the Nevermind and In Utero era. Sometimes the sound quality is poor or the track is incomplete, but it is fascinating to hear the evolution of some classic tunes. It's also great to hear Oh The Guilt from the split 7" with Jesus Lizard again after all these years - Kurt in top shouting form.

The DVD is probably the strongest part of the box set, featuring such oddities as a rehearsal at the Novoselic home from 1988 which features much footage of Kurt's posterior, gigs with Dan Peters and Jason Everman, the first ever live performance of Teen Spirit, and Kurt's increasing cynicism post-Nevermind "We'd like to thank you for coming and pretending we're still underground alternative rock..."

The final part of the package is the exhaustive book, which details every single Nirvana recording session ever! This highlights the amount of effort that went into producing this box set, and the care taken to select the strongest tracks. However, there are a few tracks listed in the book that don't appear it would be interesting to hear, for example the last ever session in Washington where some future Foo Fighters tunes were demoed. There are also some great liner notes, particularly those from Thurston Moore which are much more coherent than Thurston usually is! Overall a very strong package.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2008
For any Nirvana fan, this collection is a must have. It has plenty of rare and unreleased recordings, including demos and rare live tracks, it also has some fascinating videos. It's quite simply amazing, if you're a Nirvana fan you really have to get this! The packaging and liner notes and photos are fantastic too.

I wish I could give it six stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2004
Wow! What a compilation. I could not leave the record store after I started listening to it (as I did not want to spend the 20 minutes it takes me to go home without hearing the songs).
I particularly recommend disc 3. Only Kurt could sing 'Rape me' to his baby daughter Frances. The nearly 10-minute 'Scentless Apprentice' clearly proves that Nirvana are unrivalled even today. M.V. is just a fantastic song with a memorable melody. Do Re Mi is so sad because it indicates all the potential this man had.
I highly recommend Nirvana's anthology to anybody who is interested in listening to Lennon/McCartney like melodies played in Sex Pistols style.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2007
This set is a great addition to the collection of material for the Nirvana fan. Most of the stuff have been recorded on a home tape recorder so obviously the quality is not great, but the whole point is to hear how Nirvana started out and you notice how the lyrics of the classics were different, before they were changed for the final recordings.

I really love the packaging too with a smart metal front cover, and it has a booklet on the inside.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)