Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £7.99

Save £7.00 (47%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Witchfinder's  Sister by [Underdown, Beth]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Witchfinder's Sister Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 145 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£7.99

Length: 361 pages Word Wise: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Product description

Review

THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2018

Based on the true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, with one of the most memorable heroines in recent historical fiction, this haunting novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.

(From the publisher)

'A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller' (Sarah Perry author of The Essex Serpent)

Beth Underdown grips us from the outset...at once a feminist parable and an old-fashioned, check-twice-under-the-bed thriller (Patrick Gale)

A tense, surprising and elegantly-crafted novel (Ian McGuire)

Chilling, gripping, terrifying and exquisitely written (Susan Barker)

A richly told and utterly compelling tale, with shades of Hilary Mantel (Kate Hamer)

Atmospheric and filled with foreboding, it's a novel that draws you under its spell (Stylist)

A haunting, brooding debut (Psychologies)

A chilling, creeping novel with parallels to more modern forms of witch-hunts (Red)

'Anyone who liked Cecilia Ekback's Wolf Winter is going to love this. [It's] about tiny braveries and small courage... a real David and Goliath story, but far less straightforward' (Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street)

From the Inside Flap

Until now, mine and Matthew's history has lived in the dark.
But now I must turn over the stone: that you might see it, wriggling to escape.

1645. When Alice Hopkins' husband dies in a tragic accident, she has no choice but to return to the small Essex town of Manningtree, where her brother Matthew still lives.

But home is no longer a place of safety. Matthew has changed, and there are rumours spreading through the town: whispers of witches, and of a great book, in which her brother is gathering women's names.

To what lengths will her brother's obsession drive him?
And what choice will Alice make, when she finds herself at the very heart of his plan?


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 6546 KB
  • Print Length: 361 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin (2 Mar. 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01M7QBBLN
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars 145 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #21,016 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?



Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 7 July 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?