Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
50
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2014
This is a lovely story of what the Redcoats did on and off duty. Each individual story is a pleasure to read, each story does overlap to a certain extent this is to be expected, but everyone's story is completely different starting off from when they were young, then teenagers, onto working at Butlins and what happened to them later in life.
Some of the accounts are so difficult to believe you would be forgiven for thinking they were fiction when you suddenly think my goodness this is fact and it really happened to them.
Very good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Having worked at Butlins for a number of years in the 70's and known to a number of the 'girls' in the book I can relate to the input by them.
It is a very true account of the life and times at the Camps and of the persons who were there and their backgrounds.
Great to live some of the old times and enjoyed the reading - well put together.
It brought back many happy memories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
This book was a good read but i expected there to be more naughty exploits than there actually was. Its various different red coats over the years telling you about their time working for butlins.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
interesting.about the life and loves of the butlins girls.had some funny moments and some sad moments.a quick easy red.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
An interesting book of a bygone age.
Reading it you really get the feel of being a redcoat
Liked the different girls stories and how the interlinked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
I love this auther
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Just what I wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Ok story & recollections of happy memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
As I know one of the ladies who are portrayed in this book, I was interested to see what her life was like at the Butlin camp. I found all the stories equally fascinating and the synopsis of Billy Butlin also illuminating.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
This brought back many memories for me of how Butlins was both as a camper & a member of staff. I enjoyed reading about the girls lives. I felt moved by the things they went through and privileged to be let into their ups and downs. If you have ever enjoyed a stay with Butlins this will evoke personal memories of your time there, a MUST read for everyone who was/is part of the Butlins (& Majestics) family.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)