A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £1.82 (23%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£6.17
Kindle price
£7.99
Paperback price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£1.82 (23%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 14 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Wing Jones has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Or
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
Or
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Wing Jones Paperback – 5 Jan 2017

4.5 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£2.04 £1.95
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£7.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 14 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • Wing Jones
  • +
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder
  • +
  • The One Memory of Flora Banks
Total price: £17.43
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Walker Books; 01 edition (5 Jan. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1406369098
  • ISBN-13: 978-1406369090
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 2.4 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 37 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 278,653 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"This lovely YA debut follows Wing Jones, a Chinese-Ghanaian highschooler, who, in 1990s Atlanta finds herself in the midst of family tragedy with only one escape: running. It's a powerful and charming book about finding support and inner strength against the odds; it may prick your tear ducts a little, but when has a really good book not?" * BuzzFeed * "[...] this is a compelling and heartwarming account of finding hope even in the bleakest of circumstances. And while American reviewers are likely to praise the title for its racial diversity, it should also be commended for its sympathetic portrayal of a working-class family and the terrifying burden of medical expenses in a pre-Obamacare society." * Irish Times * I loved that it took all the building blocks of great YA, but made something really new and fresh from them. It's got some pretty teary moments but, ultimately, it's a triumphant read about finding your own strength. -- Anna James * The Pool * A splendidly diverse domestic setup with vivid, evocative details ensures that the book's big issues never feel unbalanced; and many readers will yearn for Wing's guardian lion and dragon spirits (touches of magical realism here) to guide them through times of crisis * The Guardian * Already lots of buzz about the debut from Booktrust staffer Webber and it's well deserved, an immensely readable novel about family. [...] Running is key to Wing's self-discovery and these scenes are some of the most striking in the book, really inspirational to see such a positive storyline about girls and sport. * Bookseller * Wing's story is heart-wrenchingly beautiful and her discovery of running as an outlet for her emotions demonstrates that you can do anything if your heart is in it. In a year where we all could do with some hope, Wing Jones shows the rewards of action, belief and achievement.... Magical and real, sad and triumphant. It explores grief, tragedy, perseverance, bullying, ambition, blossoming love, friendship, family and more. A truly beautiful book that everyone should pick up! * Mugglenet * Wing is one of my favourite characters of the year [...] You need to get yourself a copy as early in the New Year as you can. In fact get your pre-order in right now!, and start 2017 right! * Bart's Bookshelf * "In a nutshell: Losing your way, running for your life, finding your feet A beautifully bittersweet debut in which a teenage girl discovers a latent talent that shines light on the darkest of times. Set in the run-up to the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, this is an expansive, heartfelt tale of loss, first love and self-discovery, and readers will truly root for Wing. Highly recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell." * LoveReading Joanne Owen January 2017 Debut of the Month * "An emotional roller coaster of family loyalty, overcoming tragedy and self belief. Inspiring." * South Wales Evening Post * "A heart-warming, positive tale about family, identity and coming of age, Wing Jones does an excellent job of presenting a mixed-race heroine in a supportive and loving family, but one with its own complex stresses and differences. The experience of being the sibling of a very successful brother is finely drawn, as is Wing's blossoming first romance, which runs alongside her own development as an athlete, with sensitivity to the interplay of Wing being true to herself and coping with overwhelming new feelings. Wing's two matriarch grandmothers are especially wonderful and provide an extra, magical element to a well-rounded story about love, family and ambition." * BookTrust * "Girls of 13 upwards will love the emotional intensity and honesty of the novel." * The School Librarian *

From the Inside Flap

For fans of David Levithan, Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA.

With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing's speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?


Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 37 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 9 July 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2017
Format: Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 June 2017
Format: Paperback
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: camping bed, carp chair, fishing bed

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?