Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2016
great product and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2002
This book is an absolute treasure trove of wing chun information. Instead of the usual step by step how-to books, this one delves into the principles and philosophy of wing chun. The highlight of the book is the detailed chapter on chi sau - a chapter that provides gems of information upon each reading. Chi Sau is explained, how to approach it, the correct mental attitude to have, and a detailed explanation of energy and the use of. The forms are not dealt with in as much detail but nevertheless are given sufficient information.
If you are a wing chun student, this is the best ten quid you'll ever spend on a book.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2002
This book is a treasure containing many advanced theories. would only suit intermediate/advanced students as the book assumes you know basics of all 3 hand forms and chi-sau skills. YOU CANNOT LEARN THE FORMS FROM THIS BOOK!!! Try wing chun for self defence and health if u are a beginner or want better basics(also by master ip chun)
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 1998
While this book is lacking in its explanation of the 3 forms of Wing Chun and the Sticky Hands excersizes, it is an excellent reference for anyone who is serious about learning the philosophy behind Wing Chun. What you won't find here is a detailed synopsis of the 3 forms or Chi Sau. What you will find are the words of the systems foremost instructor Yip Chun, who explains the basis of the system and the true applications of Wing Chun in a very detailed manner.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2001
for those of you hoping to learn from a book, go somewhere else. this book is clearly not meant to be an instructive one and therefore does not instruct. instead it explains the principles (like it says on the cover) and reveal many, what i would call, "secrets" of wing chun training. those with experience would appreciate the content of this book greatly; those new to wing chun should read it carefully; those who want to learn, get a sifu.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
Should be five stars, but it is not simply because to get any thing really usefull from the book you need to have some prior knowledge of the subject. This said if you are involved in the art then this is an informative and very useful means of extending your understanding even for relative novices. Very good indeed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2000
It was this book that really got me interested in Wing Chun. I am ashamed to say that until I read this book I was only studying the atr because 'Bruce Lee studied it' how many times have you heard that? But my Sifu is excellent and recommended this book. It tells you the history of Wing Chun, the theory behind the style, and it also gives you some advice from Grand Master Yip Chun, who is one of leading figures in the world of martial arts, today. This is an excellent book, but it does'nt explain the 3 forms in much detail. But this book is a bridge into another world. If your interested in Wing Chun BUY IT you won't be disapointed. If you are an experienced student in Wing Chun this book will give some knowledge of the history of the art and some excellent philosophical readings from Confusius. As I have stated already this book is a bridge into the art of Wing Chun,once this book has been read you will be hungry for more knowledge about the style, the history and the philosophy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Not really worth the money. not the worst read but I get alot more out of practicing with a novice than I got out of this book. If your after the fundimental idea its a decent read but you'll need to skip half the book cause it starts off with background info which is nice... then digresses into a really crap story. then the images dont really help. people for beginner if thats what your buying it for. The principles of the moves arent explained well and there are literally 0 applications to the Techniques so on the hole not impressed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
a good book for helping you on the journey but nothing like spending time with someone who knows how the techniques flow together.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
I bought this book a few months ago after around 3 months of training (and getting hooked!!). I've done thai boxing and judo before, but Wing Chun (or Tsun as my lineage is) seems so effective and simple. This helped further explain the ideas and principles behind the training that I had done in class. I fully recommend it - although if you are looking for a form training book this is not up to a good standard. If you know the terms and movements already it is useful. I also liked th e many pictures showing application of the chi-sao drills. This along with the wooden dummy book go very well together - if you have access to a dummy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse