Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



on 29 June 2001
Windhaven is a world where the only land is in the form of small islands in a stormy sea. It's only inhabitants are the descendants of a crashed Earth colony ship who live a low-technology existence on those islands. One of the major forms of communication on Windhaven is messages carried by the flyers who use wings crafted from the spaceship's materials to fly between the islands, the wings are highly prized and passed down only through the elite flyer families. The main theme of this books concerns the efforts of the ordinary citizens of Windhaven, particuarily the book's heroine, to be allowed the chance to be able to become flyers. The more conservative of the flyer families resist the idea of others also being allowed to fly and this book deals with the conflict between the two groups. Like Martin's other books the characters are what makes this book good, as well as the convincing and original world. Fans of his major series, A Song of Ice and Fire should not be disapointed although the theme and feel of the book bears more similarity to Anne Mcaffrey's Pern series than Martin's other books. In summary, an entertaining book that is well worth reading.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2002
I bought this book on the strength of George RR Martin's other works and was in two minds once I received it - the blurb reads like the worst of romantic fantasy and with commendations by Anne McCaffrey and Marion Zimmer Bradley (sorry but...) and a "young girl achieves her dreams of flying and makes the world a better place" plot synopsis.
Frankly I thought there was no hope for this story by this point. Still, I'd bought it and, even if it sounded like it was turgid wishy-washy idealism and escapism, I was going to have to read it...
Early next morning I finally finished the book and managed to put it down and get some sleep. Yes, the main character is a somewhat foolish idealist with a dream of flying and breaking down the caste system, but the story is about much more than that, it shows that even great and noble actions like establishing equality can have disasterous consequences and that changing the law to be "fairer" may sound good in principle but when it hurts your friends then your idealism wavers.
Definitely recommended and slightly off the well worn track of mainstream fantasy.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 July 2001
George RR Martin's early stuff is being reissued on the back the success of his 'Song of Ice and Fire' series. And a good thing too. This collaboration with Lisa Tuttle at first gave me the impression it would be predictable but a good read. In fact it was wonderful.
It follows Maris, who has no right to fly except that there is nothing she wants more in the world. Broadly in three parts, the books charts her difficult, thrilling and compelling adventures right through her life. Boldly imagined, adult and moving, this is a very welcome reprint.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2011
WindhavenIts possible that if I'd never read all of the books of, 'Song of Ice and Fire' I wouldn't have been so disappointed with Windhaven. I bought this book because I wanted to continue to relish each word Martin has written. Either he had nothing, or very little, to do with this book, or he's really slipped. It was puerile. Plot and writing were amateurish. I suffered thru half of it and then took it to a charity shop. I would equate this experience as being nearly as bad as having to suffer thru the film, 'Ishtar' again. I won't write any more about it because that would really be flogging a dead horse - which is what Windhaven is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 February 2001
What can I say about this book..... well its excellent.
This is not a story about a poor village girl who finds out that she is the heir to a lost kingdom or set or wings... Just of a woman who tries to change the world for the better, but then comes to realise that it ain't as easy or ideal as she 1st thought...
If you want a book that deals with extremely well drawn characters who react believeably to a changing world, or just a well written thoughtful peice of art then this is the book for you...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2002
I bought this book on the strength of ice and fire a truly imaginative and great read. I kept it safe to read on my holiday, I started to read it and immediately was struck by the similarity to Jack Vance Blue world. Maybe bacause of this I found that in comparison windhaven suffered.
Yes its quite good, but its not great. It reads like 3 separate stories combined with very little cohesion running through it.
Overall its pales beside the blue world and ice and fire, not bad but...... could be better.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2017
great just like new
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2014
I believe "page-turner" is the apt term.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2010
I like George R R Martin's other works but this was awful. The characters were badly drawn, the background and culture of the people had little development and overall it made me feel like I did not care what happened next which was not helped as the story dragged too. I struggled on to the end because I thought there might be something in there to redeem it. It is a shame because I liked the idea of this book with the flyers and the tradition of passing the wings on to the next generation.

The most helpful thing I can say is give this one a miss and read the series 'A Song of Ice and Fire' instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 20 May 2012
Windhaven is a storm-wracked world consisting of a vast ocean and a small scattering of islands, home to the descendants of survivors of a spacecraft crash centuries earlier. The most efficient way of passing messages between islands is by the flyers, specially-trained men and women who can use strong-but-flexible 'wings' salvaged from the wrecked spaceship to ride the winds from island to island. Tradition has it that a flyer's wings are passed from parent to their eldest child, but this order is upset when Maris of Lesser Amberley, the adopted daughter of a flyer, is required to give up her wings to her adopted father's trueborn eldest child, who has no interest in flying. The establishment is opposed to any opening of the flyers' ranks to the 'land-bound', but the winds of change are blowing on Windhaven, and these changes will be difficult and potentially bloody.

Windhaven, originally published in 1981, is a 'fix-up' novel, consisting of two short stories written in the 1970s and a third, concluding section written for this edition. It was George R.R. Martin's second novel and Lisa Tuttle's first. With the book's feudal society and low technology level (due to a lack of metal on the islands), it is reminiscent of fantasy, although there is an SF background to the setting.

The novel is divided into three episodes, taken from different points in Maris's life. In the first, Maris has to fight tradition in order to hold onto her wings. In the second, Maris has succeeded in allowing the 'land-bound' to train as flyers, but faces problems when a bitter and angry new recruit attempts to earn his wings after rejecting the traditions of the flyer caste. In the third, an older Maris, recovering from a head injury, is drawn into a dispute over the powers of the flyers and the land-bound rulers of the islands.

Each episode builds on the same theme on tradition and transformation. Windhaven is, in essence, a caste-based society with the flyers held to different standards, laws and responsibilities as the land-bound. Maris's arguments for changing this to allow the land-bound commoners to train as flyers works because it solves an existing problem, where people in flyer families who are not good at flying are lost in accidents, and their irreplaceable wings with them. However, it is not a safe or easy answer, as the influx of new blood into the flyer community causes unforseen problems that the society has to deal with. The basic premise of a rigid society being changed by the actions of an individual (usually, as in this case, the protagonist) is commonplace, but Windhaven delights in exploring the consequences of each change and following the ripples and additional complications they cause. The book ends with, hopefully, a new, fairer and more permanent order being established, but even in this case Maris realises that problems will continue to arise, this being the nature of societies and indeed life.

Windhaven benefits from strong characterisation. Maris develops from episode to episode, the scope of her ambition widening as her understanding of the world grows. She starts out as a little girl who only wants to fly, but becomes a leader who must make sometimes unpopular decisions to maintain the rules she herself set in place. More complex still is Val, the 'one-wing' Maris starts out by hating but ultimately has to fight for, despite his own dislike of her. There is also S'Rella, the trainee flyer from the far south, who wants to follow in Maris's footsteps and is upset to find the world a harsher place than she thought, as well as Evan (a doctor in the service of a ruthless and cruel lord) and Coll (Maris's brother, born to be a flyer but wanting to be a singer). It's a small but well-defined cast of characters.

There's a strong sense of place to the islands of Windhaven, particularly successful as we still get a sense of the nature of some far-off places even though Maris never visits them. Song of Ice and Fire fans may also be amused to find some place-names that crop up again in the later series (such as the Iron Islands and the Eyrie). The descriptions of flying are vivid, although the actual act of flying plays a smaller role in the story than a reader might expect (it's function and ramifications being more central to the narrative).

Windhaven (****) is a solid early effort from both authors, though perhaps a tad slight compared to their later works and the book's short length requires a fair amount of convenience in plot developments (namely, the way Maris is at the centre of all three major world-shaking moments in the book). It's well-written, mixing cynicism with hope and adding a dash of realism to the optimism engendered by Maris's successes. It is available now in the UK and USA.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Ice Dragon
£3.99
Tuf Voyaging
£2.99
A Song for Lya
£1.49
The Glass Flower
£0.99

Need customer service? Click here