Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
120
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£10.24


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2014
A refreshing take on the classic Star Wars Trilogy resulting in hilarity and amusement for all.

The books are a eye catcher for anyone whom is browsing through my bookcase and the detail of the artwork is really something to be admired. Even the book - the dust cover looks like an old book which is a nice touch.

Overall, a very nice - if a little silly - product for anyone who appreciates Star Wars and Shakespeare.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 January 2015
Sometimes clever ideas don't really work out as a full book - the idea makes the first few pages entertaining but then the joke runs thin. Not so with this as the idea is so brilliantly executed. Part of what makes it so good is that it's not trying to satirise either Star Wars or Shakespeare. Rather it pays tribute to both, and for those less familiar with reading Shakespeare it's also a good little introduction to how much fun his work can be once you get used to the different language and structure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Got as a gift for a star wars and Shakespeare fan and they loved it! Would recommend​..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
T'was in times of old 'tis a tayle relate, the machination
of cursed empires and rebels whom be foe and
Princess sister of the brave soul revealed,

[Aside] Marry. yet the tayle be more with
Family lost and jedi lore; commenced bizarre at part IV.

To defeat cursed empire
Rebels engage a mighty weapon to destroy, bilt
With help from those who'se,
Sentience be unknown.

[Chorus] Verily enthralled will the reader be,
Of this tayle, in a different place in olden time,
Thou spendst well if tome be bought,

Disappointed only be the knave who'se
Humours sense dessert'th them
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
I bought this mostly for the awesome title and lovely cover to sit on my bookshelf, but it's also great fun to read. As others have said, it's not exactly a riveting novel that will keep you focused for hours and desperate for more - I find it best to pick up for an entertaining chapter or two at a time. R2's asides are the most entertaining and lend a genuinely original angle on a character whose outlook and motives you never realised were so underdeveloped and mysterious.

I will definitely be ordering the other two to complete my original trilogy. Please god do not do the prequels. Please.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Why had no one thought of this before? I love this book. It's a fun way to inspire people to think about language and I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Star Wars or Shakespeare. You can imagine how the stage would look whilst reading each scene and I think that it would be a great resource for schools. Well done to the author and I wish I could see the show!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
If you like both Shakespeare and Star Wars, you should definitely buy this book! It contains references to Shakespeare's actual works and also to Star Wars Universe stuff that isn't in the movie, such as a reference to the Han/Greedo shot first controversy and the scene in Revenge of the Sith where we see Moff Tarkin and the Emperor planning the Death Star. I hope the writer gives the other two original trilogy movies the same treatment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
brilliant idea ! my grandson age 8 has just done a Shakespeare play at school and loved it.(midsummer nights dream) he is an avid star wars fan and loves to read so this was perfect for him, he has the empire striketh back and is anxiously awaiting the publication of the next episode in july
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I bought this for a huge star wars fan. He found it a bit weird to begin with but as he read more of it he appreciated it more and was delighted at the whole concept of the book. Great value and a thoughtful gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
bought as my friend hasnt seen star wars and loves shakespeare. hopefully this will win over another starwars fan! boom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse