Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8

on 29 December 2012
I suppose i come to this book form a particular viewpoint, that of wanting to look at the tile designs with a view to inspiring stained glass designs. What i really needed was a catalogue of tile designs, and this book isn't that.

This book is understandably a broader view of de Morgan's life and career and as such is very good. It was first published in 1983 and that might account for the fact that most of the illustrations are black and white. Printing technology has moved on and we'd benefit from a new account which makes use of the freer availability of colour printing to bring out the extraordinary colours of the tiles. But good as far as it goes...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2015
A wonderful informative book about manufacture history and almost a catalogue of various tile designs. Useful for identifying individual tile names. Beautiful photos and clear text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2015
Great book, I wanted it for the coloured plates as reference and it is full of fantastic examples. The book has some water damage/staining on the pages but it was delivered quickly and wrapped suitably.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2013
The book arrived promptly with the contents exceeding my expectations being packed with images and information.with a price to matcha.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2013
Excellent book on DeMorgans tiles and good overview of his career, Probably the best book available {that I am aware of} in this sort of price range.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2013
item was in fantastic condition for its price, as my sister wanted this book for Christmas i looked everywhere for it, found on amazon yet again good reliable and cheap sources... very colourful images clear clean book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2008
This book is well produced, full of examples of De Morgan's
wonderful free flowing designs, mostly organic .Also
beau ideal stylised forms of animals, birds and fish.
A good range of his Red luster designs. Plus two good essays by
Elizabeth Aslin and Alan Caiger-Smith.
In conclusion a very good informative book by Jon Catleugh at a giveaway price, its worth every penny.
Bob
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 May 2014
With two hundred and forty monochrome illustrations but just sixteen pages of colour this is a reasonable intro to the tile output of William de Morgan. The colour plates give you a reasonable idea of the palette and glazes that were mostly used but I feel the proportion of colour is insufficent for in depth analysis.
One colour plate has a fireplace with lustre tiles depicting animals and mythical beasts. This single page should have been split into six colour plates at least with half a dozen tiles per page.as they merit examination on a single basis.
There are sketches of tiles that were never produced but show a continuation and evolution of styles and themes.
Overall a useful book that will provoke more interest for deeper study.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)