Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 January 2014
This book is a sumptuous visual feast; lots of colour plates, all kinds of styles of wildlife illustration and art.
A lovely insight into the wildlife artists' world and a great resource for techniques too.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
If you are a wildlife artist, want to be a wildlife artist or just know someone who has an interest in wildlife and/or drawing or painting this is a fantastic book. The various chapters are deeply informative and laid out so that you can dip in and out of topics. It gives you a brief history to how wildlife has been depicted in art throughout the eras at the beginning, before moving on to ins and outs of drawing wildlife. It explains about the ranges of equipment you can use in a very practical way, thinking not only of media and tools but creature comforts like staying warm and being prepared. Other chapters cover different media, different styles and inspiration and how if you want to, to sell your work or develop outlets for it. It is very rounded, practical, easy to read with wonderful examples of art work and sculpture from some of the best wildlife artists around. Totally inspiring. I cannot recommend this book enough. It is a GEM. Thanks Jackie for producing such a great book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2014
Very comprehensive coverage of the subject, useful to both aspiring and more experienced wildlife artists.
Choice of a variety of artist's work to illustrate the points is both instructive and inspiring.
Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
For anyone who thinks (having read the title) that this is another 'how to' book, I would urge them to read further.
Yes, there are excellent sections featuring the practical techniques of creating wildlife art, but there is also a wealth of invaluable information covering many other important aspects of being, or becoming, a wildlife artist.
Stunning artwork throughout and a clear, readable text. I recommend this to anyone with an interest in the genre.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Extraordinary useful guide for all subject not just wildlife painting. Clear, common sense and useful advice throughout. Jackie does not "talk down" or patronise the reader but treats them all (including beginners) as competent and capable of understanding and benefitting from her experience. I would recommend this guide to all without hesitation. To conclude, this is one of the best guides to artists techniques in all medias that I have seen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
This book covers all the areas that any artist would want who enjoys painting wild life.It is clear and precise and breaks down the various areas in putting together a painting.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Haven't read it yet but it looks good and informative. Glad I bought it. Lots of advice, hints, different approaches, and contains much more than just how to copy a picture. Great instructions and background information. Highly recommend this book if you want to paint wildlife and draw wildlife. Better than most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Very good book for all wildlife artist lots of info on many wildlife subject birds, animal, and fish pleased with the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
All those deeper questions that you have, which most texts just don't quite get to addressing are here. A masterfully written and comprehensive guide. There is a wonderful choice of illustrations too. Does Jackie understand just how good a job she has made of this book? She is deserving of many congratulations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I have given a 4 star as it is a present for Father's Day and I haven't given it out yet but it looks great and I am sure my Dad will love it. Postage brill and quick
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)