Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.07
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2012
I read this book after Nick Griffiths previous book on Dr. Who. Whereas the first was part autobiography, this follow up is more travel with common thread, and put me in mind of Stuart Maconie`s terrific volumes.

This book is both personal and thought provoking with the Dr. Who thread almost as a hanger upon which the author displays his procrastinations.

Yet for the fan of the series, it is also both informative and stimulating. And with the hyperlinks scattered liberally throughout, the book should prove a useful starting point for further exploration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
A fantasic read. A book for Who fan's new and old. I can only hope Nick goes on a second locations adventure because this book really did leave me wanting more. It is full of humour (kids beware some bad language!) and is at times very touching. Bring on "fact pack 4!"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
Nick, you're supposed to be a feverish, dribbling, Doctor Who nerd, so saying that you can't remember why Pertwee's Doctor was stuck on earth during one of your location visits is blasphemy (and would have taken five seconds to look up on Wikipedia).
And the fact you didn't even bother to look at the direction-pointing Dungeness DVD extras before visiting the Axon site, then admitting to it at the end of the chapter, too (when you weren't even sure of being in any of the right places). Well, you just deserve to be EXTERMINATED!!!!!!!
I was looking forward to reading this book, which really was a massive opportunity for the writer, but he was obviously never that serious about the book materialising into our space and time, which is blatantly clear from the large time gap between chapters.
There are some smile-raising incidents, but there are unforgivable acts of laziness on the writer's part, which are a complete turn-off for a reader trying to engage with the author.
And the continued reference to pictures in the book, which can only been seen on a website was more annoying than Adric. The publishers should have shaken the giant Menoptra-sized moths from their wallets and put pictures in the book. Great idea, poor effort!
P.S. Did you write a book called 'Dalek I Loved You'? You never mentioned it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2013
This is an interesting book about the author's trips to various Dr. Who locations from both the current and the classic series. It is well written and an enjoyable read. This is an excellent book that gives background information on all the locations as well as interesting facts about their relation to Dr. Who. Whilst definately being a book for the committed fan, this also gives a good all-round view of some less well known locations. I read the digital version and there is a link to the photos on his website which is useful, as photos are usually something you miss out on with older versions of e-readers like mine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2008
Who Goes There charts Nick's adventures around the UK in search of Doctor Who filming locations old and new. Armed with his 'fact packs' and his undying love of the show, Nick sets off to stand in the very spots where Tom Baker and Jon Pertwee and later David Tennant stood and held court as the Doctor.
Accompanying Nick on his bonkers tours are his beloved friends and family (I love them all!), aiding and abetting him as he soaks in the atmosphere of hallowed Who ground and occasionally trespasses to get to the epicentre of Wholand (he doesn't recommend that we the readers do this, if only for the nettle stings around the ankles!)
As an added bonus, we get to see the pictures taken on Nick's jaunts online (the scared at Autons face a particular fave of mine!). This adds a lovely touch and it's hard not to feel you've been there too. (I have, in some cases, for I am as sad as Nick!)
Running through the book of japes are some poignant moments that Nick shares about his family, and I must admit to shedding some tears of sadness alongside those of joy and hilarity.
Who Goes there ticks all the right boxes for me. It's definitely fuelled my desire to go to more Dr Who locations.
You don't have to be a Who nutter to thoroughly enjoy this book, but it helps!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
A funny and fast paced account of the authors attempts to hunt down and visit some Who locations. This in spite of being derailed by a liking for real cider, erratic mapreading, and occasionally recalcitrant family members. Recommended read for Who fans everywhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2009
A worthy follow up to Dalek I Loved You, Nick Griffiths has once again written a hugely enjoyable memoir focused around his love of Doctor Who.

There is a personal journey charted through the book which was written during a period of great change as Nick's wife becomes pregnant and within a cruely short span of time his mother passes away. Nick is on a quest to visit a number of iconic locations from The Police Box Show such as Stargroves Mansion (from Pyramids of Mars and Image of the Fendahl), Betchworth Quarry (Genesis of the Daleks/Deadly Assasin) and Aldbourne (from "The Daemons"), plus many more.

He talks about how he found the locations, looks for iconic images and specific places where a particular shot might have been filmed and considers the changes in the decades since Who went there. He is funny, charming and occasionally informative with the odd spoucon of historical information on the place he's visiting and a great interest in cider!

He revisits the story on video or DVD before the trip and shares the occasional observation about the old show from his son a confirmed new Who fan. The stories considered are mostly from classic Who with a finale dedicated to a few stories from the new version.

The locations come alive much more than in drier books like "Travels Without the Tardis" or magazine location features. Recommended for classic who fans of the '70's vintage, there are details within the book of a companion website with photos which is well worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 March 2010
Quite simply, one of the best Doctor Who books available. The author wanders the English landscape, looking for Doctor Who film locations, with mixed results; sometimes funny, other times tragic and frustrating. The 'in-between' text, about the authors long suffering family is a delight, as all serious Who fans know how annoying we can be, especially when we sense the 'others' just don't get what makes the show so special. The 'everyman' prose is a great alternative to the nauseating waffle of the RTD books ("marvellous, brilliant, splendid, hurrah!"). There are no such pretensions here. Buy it, read it, love it...and then get on the road and have the adventure yourself! P.s. Nick, can we have a sequel? Pleeeaaaseeee.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2012
There's a great book to be written about Dr Who filming locations. This isn't it. Nick Griffiths (as he tells us many times) is a freelance journalist, among other things contributing to Radio Times features, and seems to have knocked this book off in a spare lunch hour or two. Among the many irritating things about it, two stand out:

1. He refers continually to photos taken at the various sites which he has put up on a website. I don't tend to be looking at websites while reading a book - or Kindle in this case. Without live hyperlinks to the images, it's just annoying to keep reading such references.

2. He has the greatest difficulty going more than a chapter without referring to his other book 'Dalek I Loved You'. Yes, Mr Author... we know you wrote another book. How clever. Now how about shutting up about it and getting on with this book?

Overall Griffiths manages to make a potentially fascinating subject rather dull, which is an anti-achievement of some magnitude.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is certainly a great idea for a book; particularly at a time when gently humourous travel writing is on the up. Unfortunately, Griffiths just isn't very funny or particularly interesting and comes across as a bit of a poor man's John McCarthy.
The visits to the 'Who' locations themselves are great and would arouse the interest of any fan, however the in-between bits let the side down; feeble attempts at humour and poorly researched and inaccurate potted history lessons just grate, whilst the writer's constant self-deprecating remarks and comments on the forebearance of his friends and family are generally more irksome than empathy inducing.
This is worth getting hold of for the good bits but just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99

Need customer service? Click here