Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
13
3.9 out of 5 stars


on 22 June 2006
I loved this book - it was amazingly well written, which is always a plus, and very believable. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2010
This book draws the reader slowly, but inexorably, into the world of Amanda, who seems to be falling prey to a demon, Naamah. Amanda relates the story, from the first odd occurrence at her work, through a series of events that escalate in seriousness and bizarreness, to the shocking climax. The writing is deceptively simple and the novel well paced; the result is an absorbing read. Amada's relationship with her husband is particularly well observed, beginning with friendly bickering and ending with the frigid politeness of a failed marriage.

Although short and with a pretty straightforward plot, this is also a thought provoking novel. How reliable a narrator is Amanda? Is she possessed - or mad? How complicit is she in her possession by Naamah? Not all of those questions are resolved by the ending, which means that the story lingers in the mind even after you have finished reading the novel. This is a really good book, but I wouldn't read it in a big, empty house with branches tapping against a window in a gale - not if you want to get to sleep that is!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2005
Described by critics as "terrifying" is a bit misleading, Sara Gran is no Steven king. However the book is a very good read. It is more psychological the horror doesn't come from the events so much as the realism, it encourages the questioning of other people and the likelihood of something like this happening in real life.
Its about the loss of control, something most people can relate to and in that way the boo is very powerful. The Film Company Miramax has picked up the story and this is not surprising as the characters are vivid and the book is well written and as a film it will probably be very frightening.
The main problem with the book is its length it feels slightly rushed it only took me two hours to read. The twist in the end is good but it comes after a few chapters that seem blurred, although this is possibly the aim of Gran, I found that it didn't fit with the rest of the story that seemed to be developing well. It's a book I would recommend if you want a quick thought-provoking book, if you want a more jumpy absorbing horror then this probably isn't what you are looking for.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2007
This is a supernatural novel, or at least it seems to be. It is short and does not develop its plot line very far, that of a young woman who comes to believe (with plenty of good reason) that she is being possessed by a demon. But it tells the tale with such disarming frankness and simplicity that it manages to be very compelling. A good quick read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2011
I read this book, knowing the general story. I absolutely loved this book - couldn't put it down. It's a sophisticated horror story: not heavy on blood and guts, but rather more of a psychological, creepy, under-your-skin type of story. There were certainly times I felt scared, whilst reading it alone at night! Can't recommend it enough. You'll love it if you enjoy more sinister, eerie stories than blood/violence/typical haunting stories.

This one is truly original.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2006
Amanda and Edward appear to be a happy and stable couple with a good social situation.
But soon Amanda's mental equipoise is put to the strain and it is the beginning of her slow decline. It all begins with the sound of tapping she seems to hear more and more frequently, only when Edward is present. Then she is harassed by nightmares and soon she shows signs of severe kleptomania and her perception of time becomes confused. She cannot say for sure if she is speaking or if it is her inner "Naamah". Inevitably her psychotic behaviour is bound to lead to crime...
A swift and rather stylish narrative about the loss of sanity. "Don't read it alone" advises The Times. Well, most readers will safely survive even if they read "Come Closer" alone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
If you want a quick horror read, easily finished in one sitting (a winter's evening is best!), I'm sure you could do a lot worse than this. It's a fairly straightforward story but it lingers in the mind. My only problem is that if you've seen the movie 'Paranormal Activity' it could be a bit of a let-down - I'm not accusing the makers of PA of any kind of rip-off, but there are enough parallels that if you've seen the film, and then read the book, you could feel 'oh, right...' Don't get me wrong, I feel this is a significantly better book than PA was a film - just that if you're planning to enjoy both, read this first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
I find the concept of demonic possession completely fascinating and the portrayal in this novel certainly does not disappoint..

Brilliantly blurs the lines between the possibility of possession and the idea of really serious mental health issues!

I thought the narrative structure was superb and led to an extremely satisfying and haunting conclusion.

Recommended to fellow fans of The Exorcist as an engaging and thoroughly contemporary interpretation of demonic possession.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2016
Didn't live up to its initial promise. The first couple of chapters were intriguing enough to prompt me to buy the book but I was disappointed on the whole by the book's lack of tension. There was no suspense about what was happening or why, and there was no challenge to the downhill sequence of events. No antagonist to counter the protagonist, no hero's journey. It's like The Exorcist without the actual exorcist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2014
I found this book to be well written and interesting. It is however extremely short and the later chapters appear somewhat disjointed. Furthermore, unless it is simply my ignorance and stupidity, there are a number of questions that are left unanswered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here