Kindle Price: £12.99
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
When the Elephants Dance by [Holthe, Tess Uriza]

When the Elephants Dance Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£12.99

Length: 392 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Kindle Monthly Deal
Browse a new selection of discounted Kindle Books each month. Shop now

Product description

Review

"A formidable first novel, worthy of a Verdi opera."

"Mesmerizing . . . truly exciting to read."

"A powerful tale of the Philippine Islands and a testament to the resilience and courage of the Filipino people."

"Readers who loved Gabriel Garcia Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude or Isabel Allende's The House of the Spirits will welcome this novel."

A formidable first novel, worthy of a Verdi opera. ("The New York Times") Mesmerizing...truly exciting to read. ("The Washington Post") A powerful tale of the Philippine Islands and a testament to the resilience and courage of the Filipino people. ("San Francisco Chronicle")

"A formidable first novel, worthy of a Verdi opera." --The New York Times

"Mesmerizing...truly exciting to read." --The Washington Post

"A powerful tale of the Philippine Islands and a testament to the resilience and courage of the Filipino people." --San Francisco Chronicle"Readers who loved Gabriel Garcia Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude or Allende's The House of the Spirits will welcome this novel." --The New Orleans Times-Picayune

From the Inside Flap

“Papa explains the war like this: ‘When the elephants dance, the chickens must be careful.’ The great beasts, as they circle one another, shaking the trees and trumpeting loudly, are the Amerikanos and the Japanese as they fight. And our Philippine Islands? We are the small chickens.”

Once in a great while comes a storyteller who can illuminate worlds large and small, magical and true to life. When the Elephants Dance introduces us to the incandescent voice of Tess Uriza Holthe, who sets her remarkable first novel in the waning days of World War II, as the Japanese and the Americans engage in a fierce battle for possession of the Philippine Islands. The Karangalan family and their neighbors huddle for survival in the cellar of a house a few miles from Manila. Outside the safety of their little refuge the war rages on—fiery bombs torch the beautiful Filipino countryside, Japanese soldiers round up and interrogate innocent people, and from the hills guerillas wage a desperate campaign against the enemy. Inside the cellar, these men, women, and children put their hopes and dreams on hold as they wait out the war, only emerging to look for food, water, and medicine.

Through the eyes of three narrators, thirteen-year-old Alejandro Karangalan, his spirited older sister Isabelle, and Domingo, a passionate guerilla commander, we see how ordinary people must learn to live in the midst of extraordinary uncertainty, how they must find hope for survival where none seems to exist. They find this hope in the dramatic history of the Philippine Islands and the passion and bravery of its people. Crowded together in the cellar, the Karangalans and their friends and neighbors tell magical stories to one another based on Filipino myth and legend to fuel their courage, pass the time, and teach important lessons. The group is held spellbound by these stories, which feature a dazzling array of ghosts, witches, supernatural creatures, and courageous Filipinos who changed the course of history with their actions. These profoundly moving stories transport the listeners from the chaos of the war around them and give them new resolve to fight on.

With When the Elephants Dance Holthe has not only written a gripping narrative of how Alejandro, Isabelle, Domingo and their community fight for survival, but a loving tribute to the magical realism that infuses Filipino culture. The stories shared by her characters are based on the same tales handed down to Holthe from her Filipino father and lola, her grandmother. This stunning debut novel is the first to celebrate in such richness and depth the spirit of the Filipino people and their fascinating story and marks the introduction of a talented new author who will join the ranks of writers such as Arundhati Roy, Manil Suri, and Amy Tan.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3803 KB
  • Print Length: 392 pages
  • Publisher: Crown; 1 edition (26 Mar. 2002)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000QEJ0UG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 4 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #617,578 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 4 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

12 March 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
12 November 2010
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
10 March 2017
Format: Paperback
21 August 2014
Format: Paperback

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars 92 reviews
SunnyG
5.0 out of 5 starsMagnificent!
3 October 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful.
Paul Lawrence
5.0 out of 5 starsHard hitting and fast paced book
19 January 2018 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Readsalot
4.0 out of 5 starsComplex, a bit slow in spots and rich
24 August 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 starsThe Horrors of Battle and Joys of Freedom
12 November 2013 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
Okiegirl
4.0 out of 5 starsA good fictional account of WWII in the Philippines
6 December 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?