Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2003
This is good, fast paced action. One does need to keep track of a number of characters, and a few interweaving plots, and this only enhances the enjoyment of this book.
I have become increasingly involved through the series with the various characters, and I do emphasize that you should have read the first two volumes in the series before tackling this one.
The story here takes up five years after the ending of GUST FRONT, and there is some emphasis on characters introduced in that second installment while we see less of some of the characters introduced in the first book, A HYMN BEFORE BATTLE. For a military series, this seems quite logical to me, and definitely more realistic than it would've been if the first book's characters had been manipulated by the writer so that they are right in the most crucial areas.
This book is indeed darker than the predecessers. The better part of the world population has been wiped out, and humans are hanging on in several isolated areas. It does appear that those in the Northern regions are likely to survive due to the Posleen aversion to cold.
We do get a better look at the Posleen than we have in the previous books, and begin to realize that they are apparantly being manipulated as quite likely the humans also are.
The book does end on an obviously inconclusive note. There is obviously more to come and I for one will be there to find out what's next.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2002
This Book brings back Charecters from 'A Hymn Before Battle' and 'Gust Front' and is set about five years after 'Gust Front'. The Posleen have firmly entrenched Earth and North America Is one of the last Human Strong-holds, but even that may to change with the arival of Tulo'stenaloor, First Order Battlemaster of the Posleen from 'A Hymn Before Battle', who arives on Earth with the sole intention of wiping every last human out of existance. And when I said charecters are brought back from both of the previous books, May I include a couple of ghosts from the past?.....
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
As a child growing up less than 12 years after WW 2 war was what we played as boys. It was fun. We watched it on tv, we read it in our comics, all fun. It isn't fun. I served but was never near the action. I had friends killed and injured and the modern media brought some of the realities of war into the homes of normal people. Trouble is they still don't get it. There is sometimes a necessity to fight to remove a pernicious evil. Yet the majority of people think that talking and wringing hands will work. Read John`s fiction. Enjoy but hopefully learn and then take action. Thanks ,John, for a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Hi-octane action throughout. Compelling reading. The military details come across as authentic, but the pace isn't allowed to be slowed down by them.

However, it doesn't quite make four stars for me, due to one problem I have with the plot.

A group of women are escaping from the Posleen with some children - one of them wounded. They stumble across a Galactic medical facility, with the capacity to heal, rejuvenate and enhance. They use it to enhance themselves: the wounded kid isn't even mentioned in this section! That seems totally out of character for the people involved. It feels like the author simply forget the child. A small thing perhaps, and maybe I missed a significant point, but it for me it put a false note into the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Everyone knows by now that one of my favourite genres is Military Science Fiction and this author is one of the reasons why. He writes alien invasion and humans fighting back with a grittiness and realism that I adore. The heat of battle and the hopelessness of the humans comes across with every word. All his characters are written with a deep understanding of the psychology of war and it's affects on those trying to survive it. However he lightens up the gore and horror with touches of humour, that turn up at just the right time to relieve the tension the reader is experiencing. I just can't find anything negative to say about his Posleen war stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
Book 3 of the legacy of the Allendata.

Five years after Gust Front :-
Across the galaxy Humanity has sucessfully fought the Posleen invasion to a standstill. Back on earth the oposite is true. Reduced to a few heavily fortified pockets humanity is now outnumbered 10 to one by huge posleen warbands roaming the planet. Entire continents are now devoid of humanity. The last major holdout is the west coast USA and its remnant population living in sheltered arcologies. Its make or break time as the Posleen commanders decide its time to crack the Appalachian defense wall.

This is Gust Front part II. Very much more of the same - following the various members of the O'Neal clan, Mike O'neal, his survivialist father and his Daughter callie. The backdrop is the decisive battle for the earth. Its most interesting when following Callie and papa O'neal caught in the crossfire between the Posleen invasion and the defenders.

Whats new ? A fair portion of the book follows the crew of a SHEVA: a ship sized, nuclear powered supertank thats packs a Gauss cannon and is the answer to posleen air superiority. The Posleen themselves are point of view characters in this story and its obvious that theres quite a lot else going on causing them to act the way they do. Look forward to that being adressed in later books.

Neither better nor worse than Gust front, so dont expect anything different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Another great Instalment from Legacy Of The Aldenata, I really felt like I was with the solders sharing their despair and sorrow that war brings. Well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2016
He just keeps marching on as one of the best military SF writers. Great action, tactics, humour, what's not to like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Terriffic series with great action, characters and nasty aliens who want to eat us or dominate us. Clever and at times witty. Hard -hitting but with lots of depth too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
This is the third 'Ringo' that I have read, looking forward to reading even more. Excellent story great characters. Magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse