Buy Used
£5.93
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Brit-Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Simply Brit: We have dispatched from our UK warehouse books of good condition to over 1 million satisfied customers worldwide. We are committed to providing you with a reliable and efficient service at all times.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

When Breath Becomes Air Hardcover – 4 Feb 2016

4.7 out of 5 stars 844 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£5.41 £2.67
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Bodley Head; 01 edition (4 Feb. 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1847923674
  • Product Dimensions: 13.8 x 2.6 x 20.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 844 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 10,989 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"A vital book about dying. Awe-inspiring and exquisite. Obligatory reading for the living." (Nigella Lawson)

"Rattling. Heartbreaking. Beautiful." (Atul Gawande, author of BEING MORTAL)

"A great, indelible book ... as intimate and illuminating as Atul Gawande’s “Being Mortal,” to cite only one recent example of a doctor’s book that has had exceptionally wide appeal ... I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option ... gripping from the start ... None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: “It’s just tragic enough and just imaginable enough.” And just important enough to be unmissable." (New York Times)

"Powerful and poignant." (The Sunday Times)

"Less a memoir than a reflection on life and purpose… [A] vital book." (The Economist)

"Extraordinary…Remarkable… luminous, revelatory memoir about mortality and what makes being alive meaningful ... Lyrical, intimate, insistent and profound. Kalanithi had the mind of the polymath and the ear of a poet." (Heather Hodson Daily Telegraph)

"Powerful and poignant… Elegantly written posthumous memoir… Should be compulsory for anyone who intends to be a doctor… A profound reflection on the meaning of life." (Daisy Goodwin Sunday Times)

"A stark, fascinating, well-written and heroic memoir." (Stefanie Marsh The Times)

"The power of this book lies in its eloquent insistence that we are all confronting our mortality every day, whether we know it or not. The real question we face, Kalanithi writes, is not how long, but rather how, we will live – and the answer does not appear in any medical textbook." (Alice Okeeffe Guardian)

"Exceptional." (Katie Law Evening Standard)

Book Description

For readers of Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal and Henry Marsh’s Do No Harm, an unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live.

See all Product description


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Medical Books
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
History
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Books
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

20 August 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
3 September 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
7 April 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
19 October 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
29 September 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
20 February 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: Prime Day

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?