Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
52
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 2 November 2015
This is a separate storyline from the earlier books, though in the same universe. It centres around the galactic emperor and a marine 'assistant'. The emperor is initially a spoilt brat but the (female) marine sorts him out, apparently with little problem. I'm not sure how convinced I was about that, especially in the anarchic society the author paints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Absolutely brilliant,on a par with the two previous Empire Corps books,the way the author uses "Prof. Caesius" to introduce each chapter fleshes out the story and if required provides clarification,the characters are sufficiently well written that you care about their fates and the "plot" is scarily. possible if not highly likely.Anybody who enjoys action sci-fi set in a highly believable future will love all three books in the Empire Corps series and hopefully there are many more to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
The descriptions of the different activists in the book, how the public are manipulated are just spot on. Politically you can learn more from this read than any sociology course. It exposes how ideology has corrupted government, education and social attitudes towards those of a lesser standing. A very good book in a fine series. Top marks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
NUTTALL IS NOT THE MOST SUBTLE AUTHOR BUT THE BOOK IS A GOOD READ AND HIS LOOK AT OUR SOCIETY SHOULD BE REQUIRED READING FOR ALL GOVERNMENTS. ALTHOUGH THIS IS A BOOK SET IN THE FUTURE IT IS EXTREMELY RELEVANT TODAY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
I like most of Christopher Nuttall's books and this is no exception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
Love the whole series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
The connection with our modern day situation is very apt as we are suffering from overpopulation which can be blamed for most of the worlds problems.
The present political situation is getting very like what is portrayed in "When The Empire Breaks"
I am working my way through the "The Empire's Corps" series and would recommend them as a thought full look at what could happen in the future.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
An apt title for the end of the Galactic Empire. All around them planet Earth is descending into chaos but still the council of Grand Senators fiddle while the planet burns and plot only to promote their own interests. The marines are banished from the Solar System to prevent them helping or interfering and it is down to a lone pathfinder Marine, Specialist Belinda Lawson to protect the Child Rolande, future emperor of the Empire. To the chagrin of the main conspirators Belinda manages to spirit the future Emperor from under their noses. The third book in the series covers the downfall and destruction of the seat of the Empire from a personal viewpoint. It is an exciting and gripping read which kept me turning the pages until it finished, then I wanted more. Another excellent book from a modern great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2016
The scope of this novel, the ambition and depth is massive compared to it's diminutive length. The characters have different names, but like Tolkien the same voices.

You can almost here them saying " I am Aragon, follow me!" at times.

But this is a tiny criticism, although a little irksome at times compared to the breath of story Nuttall's tries to map in this novel. The collapse of a mega culture on the brink is truly stunning, the introduction of the Pathfinders is exciting. The politics is very engaging and smacks of study! If you added fully developed characters to this you would have a Sci Fi heavyweight, and a book that would take painfully long to read! Keep writing them Chris, you are definitely getting there!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse