Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 August 2017
I purchased this movie on behalf of my grandfather and I also had it sent to his address. He was more than delighted with the price, the product itself and how fast/efficient the delivery was.

100% recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
I read the book years ago and enjoyed it. This film is a load of rubbish and does not reflect the book. Typical American film actors trying to play Europeans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 January 2014
We all loved the Sven Hassel books in my school days. His wartime exploits were gloriously gory, profane and with an infectious disrespect for authority. Wheels of Terror is, I believe, surprisingly the only film adaptation of his work. Like the hugely enjoyable Cross of Iron this film is one of the few to depict WW2 from the German point of view.

Our anti-heroes are a misfit gang in a penal tank regiment, including a simple-minded muscle-head, who loves blowing things up, a muslim (presumably an outcast from the Islamic SS Handschar), a youngster, a clown and, of course an actor playing Sven himself. Promised a transfer away from the Eastern Front if they undertake a virtual suicide mission, they naturally volunteer. What follows is some decent enough wartime action (including a surprising amount with tanks), a few crude laughs and plenty of enjoyable camaraderie.

All in all, this film's irreverent atmosphere captures the look and feel of the Hassel book pretty well, but with the gore, language and brutality toned down slightly to gain its 15 rating. Other criticisms? Well, as a kid, I built plenty of those Airfix tank kits and even played WW2 wargaming and I can recognize Russian tanks when I see them. T34s are used for the Russians, but the German tank destroyers (presumably meant to be Stug IIIs or Jagdpanzers) are also Russian SU-100s. There is also what looks suspiciously like a post-WW2 Soviet tank at the beginning. Finally, if you'll excuse this geeky aside, the Russian heavy tank Klimenti Vorisholov II or KV2 is referred to as a KW2. Unforgivable! Someone has already questioned the Germans' illogical tactics in the big tank battle, and that was fair comment too.

But did I let these quibbles ruin the film for me? Nah, not a bit of it! Get some beers in and Wheels of Terror is an absolute blast and took me back to surreptitiously reading a Sven Hassel book in class when I should have been doing something much more boring instead!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
This film is a farce. David Carradine (Kung Fu) is the most familiar face here about german soldiers in a penal battalion (soldiers convicted of crimes), who go behind enemy lines to complete a mission. The weapons, armor, uniforms are cheesy--but 'better' than the acting which is worse than a high school play. In my or your quest for some WWII 'gem' you might have missed you will be sorry you purchased or watched this film.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2008
Having read the books many years ago, I was surprised that there was a film. The film was made in 1987, with the DVD release being 2002. Of course, showing much of Wheel of Terror's graphic descriptions of the insanity of war would make an unsellable film, but the screenplay treads a fine line between realism and storyline, action and comedy, irony and humour. Indeed the opening scene is superb in its twist.

Decent performance from the principals, including, a surprisingly good David Carradine playing the German officer in charge - the other actors clearly relish the chance to play these larger than life characters.

In the same category as Kelly's Heroes, though made with much less money is my guess. One fun challenge is to work out how many real tanks there are in the film.

Worth a view: hard to find.

Should have made a series - it is refreshing to see a war film made from a non-allied view (no USA or Britain) for a change.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
Good old fashioned war (WW) movie with an excellent cast/story line to boot! For anyone who enjoys a good old fashioned rollicking WW2 movie to while away an hour or two, you cannot go far past 'Wheels of Terror' BUT... BEWARE... not every version has English as the primary spoken dialect, I previously purchased this movie (in DVD format) only to have a Spanish version delivered (which I had mistakenly chosen when purchasing; however, the purchasing details can be somewhat ambiguous so extra care needs to be taken when choosing to purchase). 4/5 stars as there is some degradation of viewing quality present but not so much so as to detract too much from enjoying watching it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 March 2014
Danish writer Sven Hassel's books were a guilty pleasure in my youth with their unflinching view of the brutality of war. Erich Maria Remarque's "All Quiet on the Western Front" seemed tame in comparison. My parents would definitely not have approved! This is the only film adaption of one of his works, and provided me with another guilty pleasure. It is interesting to note that Sven Hassel's books have stood the test of time and are still popular. I should know as I have had no trouble selling them! Diehard Sven Hassel fans may struggle with this adaption which is only loosely based on the novel, but for me actually does pick up the anarchic anti Nazi nature of the main characters. Porta, the little Legionnaire and Tiny all come to life from the pages of Hassel's books.

The film follows the adventures of a Penal Brigade in the 27th Panzer Division on the Russian front. After meeting the characters and following them in battle, they are later sent on a dangerous mission behind Soviet lines to destroy an important railway depot. Penal brigades did not tend to get the cushy jobs! The director Gordon Hessler has to be applauded for putting on a good show with meagre resources. This one is right out of the B movie drawer. His attempt to film a tank battle was ambitious but brave. It was not exactly Kursk but it just about passed muster for sheer bravura. The final attack on the train depot is a highlight and a lot of the budget must have been blown on the fireworks display.

On the downside I did find the German characters very American accents a bit irritating, but if you stick with it they become acceptable. More annoying was the guitar music which was like legalised torture! The main theme itself is actually surprisingly good. Bruce Davison and David Patrick Kelly were just too lightweight for my taste in the roles of Porta and the Legionnaire. The roles were crying out for a Charles Bronson type actor. But when you are on a budget I guess `beggars can't be choosers' as they say! Oliver Reed despite his looming presence on the DVD cover only makes a very fleeting, but memorable appearance as the General. David Carradine is the stand out performer as the cynical Colonel Weisshagen. The film is a sort of poor mans "Cross of Iron". Peckinpah had a lot more budget at his disposal! That said it is very watchable. It's nice to have the odd guilty pleasure or life would be so so dull!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 November 2010
Directed by Gordon Hessler with a laziness that even Michael Winner might think shoddy, Wheels of Terror aka The Misfit Brigade seems all too obviously made for video in those halcyon gold rush days of the 80s when anything with some action in it that was more or less in focus would clean up. Based on a presumably much better Sven Hassel novel and following the exploits of a cynical tank crew made up of convicts and political undesirables (Bruce Davison, Keith Szarabajka, David Patrick Kelly and Jay O. Sanders among others who make no attempt to behave as anything other than 80s Americans), it's basic stuff cheaply shot in Yugoslavia with badly disguised modern tanks in battles that aren't so much edited as thrown together depending on what footage hit the floor first after they tossed it all in the air. Even the opening caption gets read out just in case the audience proves unable to read it for themselves.

It has a few fleeting moments that stand out from the general mediocrity - Russians showing propaganda films from the trenches offering four star hotel prison accommodation plus prostitutes to encourage the Germans to surrender, a group of heroes whose exploits are regular features on Nazi radio broadcasts turning out to have settled on a more than amicable truce with their enemies and an encounter with Russian troops who mistake them for fellow Russians - but overall it's hard to tell whether the film actually improves as it goes along or if it's just that our expectations have got that much lower by then. Along the way David Carradine smirks his way through his cameo as their commanding officer while Oliver Reed turns up briefly at the end to add a bit of star power, but it's all too easy to see why none of Hassel's other novels have made it to the screen since. It's not unwatchable but it barely repays the effort.

Most releases of this title are awful transfers of old video copies, though the deleted Finnish DVD has a decent widescreen transfer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 March 2015
I first saw this film when I was a teenager. I enjoyed it then, if only for the novelty value of seeing a Sven Hassel book made into a film. However, having recently viewed it once more, it now reminds me of a comic strip from the pages of Warlord comic - from the 1970s. The acting is sub-standard, the 'plot' bizarre in the extreme, with the only saving grace being some decent tank action. Nice cover on the DVD though. If you like this you might like my new book: The Armageddon Pact a rip-roaring tale of WW2 with a nod towards the Hassel/Kessler/ Berthold school of writing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)