Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
408
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2007
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as excellent a spokesman for his generation as Ray Davies, Paul Weller and Noel Gallagher before him. Much more appropriate (and clever) than the whingeing of the likes of James Blunt. A superb album.
11 comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Probably one of the best albums ever released, certainly in the top five of this century. As much as I love the Arctic Monkey's later sounds, there's something raw and very British about their first album which is never quite seen again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
Putting raw talent aside, what makes the Arctic Monkeys stand out? They have that rare, precious ability to appeal to all ages. I'm 49 but they make me feel 18 again. Great lyrics about small town teens touch on universal themes. And that amazing voice could do for Sheffield what The Beatles did for Liverpool. This is a great first album
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2011
I'm probably in the biggest target target audience for this (late teen) but despite all the hype surrounding it along with all the criticism, I can't really see where most of the criticism comes from. If you're not into indie-rock then yes, you probably won't like the Arctic Monkey's debut particularly, but you're missing the point. The album is fulled with a bunch of fun and funky tunes with stories layered on top. Alex Turner, whilst his voice isn't as developed as say Humbug, adds to the rawness and feel of the record. The guitars and bass work well together to bring some neat tunes to the album, and the hard-hitting drumming is very well done, particularly on the album opener, "The View From The Afternoon".
My main gripe with this album is that each track isn't particularly different from each other, in terms of tone.

I ordered the Vinyl of this because I knew the CD wasn't very well mastered, and the large gate and sleeve is a nice addition to anyone's collection. The vinyl sounds allot nicer to my ears than the CD, with more smooth and audible bass, although there is still some compression applied.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2005
If you like honest gritty unpretentious rock/indie music you will love the Arctic Monkeys. The sound they go for is more akin to 70s punk than modern indie rock. Whoever produced this album did a fantastic job in capturing the essence of what a rock band should be. There's plenty of space in the mix and theres a great energy that comes through all the tracks. They captured the performance of a great band, rather than just an overproduced, overpolished, sanitized studio album.
The songs are all at the least good and alot are exellent. Lots of great catchy guitar riffs and great vocals. They seemlessly intersperse ballsy funky rock guitar riffs with in yer face punk riffs, and ocaisional mellow indie jangly riffs. And over the top of it all you get witty & gritty ramblings about mordern life.
If i had to describe them in terms of other bands i'd say they are like a mix of The Pixes, The Clash and the Hives. But to label them as being like any one other band would be a great dis service to them. They have their own thing going on, and its a joy to hear.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2007
When I got this album, I found myself listening to it over and over again. The best song on the album is I bet that you look good on the dancefloor and When the sun goes down isn't far behind. The only poor song on the album really is Riot van, however except that this is an excellent album. People who say Franz Ferdinand and the Kaiser Chiefs are better are wrong because the Arctic Monkeys are a more individual rock/indie band. Everyone will like the Kaiser Chiefs with their radio-friendly and catchy lyrics but the Arctic Monkeys are something different. I am not saying I don't like the Kaiser Chiefs or Franz Ferdinand's first album (however overrated the second is) but to be honest you either love or hate the Arctic Monkeys rhythmic indie/rock sound or you don't and I believe more people do. The second album is good as well but I won't go on about that. So all in all, the Arctic Monkeys have bucked the trend of normal rock bands with boring lyrics (this doesn't include the Kaiser Chiefs) and have produced a masterpiece.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2006
Despite what snobby music listeners may think about the Arctic Monkeys, I've found my own snobby bum completely shimmying shamelessly in my bedroom dancefloor to this album. I'm a latecomer to the craze which surrounds this band, only actually hearing their song 'I bet you look good on the dancefloor' covered by the Sugababes on a Music Award Show... which since resulted in a constant rotation of this delightfully addictive album.

What isn't there to like about this band? Just over 40 minutes of bangin' tunes which send rhythmic convulsions through the body; the album is fuelled with such youthful vigour demonstrated through great guitar riffs over beating drums and slapping basslines, not to forget the brilliant (sometimes cocky, but always permissible) tongue-in-cheek vocals.

The Arctic Monkeys have produced an album that defiantly stands out from the many of these current 3-minute-songs British acts. What sets the Arctic Monkeys apart is within their 3 minutes, there's a lot more going on... You have the mix of amusing anecdotal lyricism, touched with sentiments in all the right places; the undeniable honesty of their tales and feelings resonated in every track... allowing varying emotions to quietly hang/loudly fall (depending on tempo) on a momentus part (which, for me is most perfectly epitomised from 01:38 onwards on 'Ritz to Rubble', absolutely outstanding moment); there's such great timing found within each track, paying attention to when the vocals commence to then lightly pause and allow the guitars to come through, then right through the climax with the drums and the shouty choruses... The presence of such great execution through each track leads to a superbly flowing album overall.

Nothing left to say, besides... See past the hype, get on your dancing shoes & enjoy the great music.

*****
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
I'll cut right to the chase, this is unequivocally the best British album of the past five years.Anyone who tells you otherwise is trying to be 'alternative', it surely is 'cool' by now to dislike the Arctic Monkeys. Forget the poseurs as 'Fake Tales...' demands, and buy this album.

From the opening clangings of 'a View From The Afternoon' to the sublime social documentary of 'A Certain Romance' this album oozes lyrical brilliance. Never since Morrisey in 1986 has a Briton portrayed life on these small shores so effortlessly. Comparisons,sonically, with an early Oasis are this time justified,anyone who has seen them live or has just listened to this album will know their pure energy and rock'n roll spirit. While maybe not as strong as 'Definitely Maybe' song for song, the standout songs on this LP are true classics: Mardy Bum, When The Sun Goes Down, From The Ritz To The Rubble and A Certain Romance.

To dismiss them as a passing fad is quite dire - when has a band conquered the system so unintentionally and so assertively, without a single PR agent in the process. They have truly changed the face of music. While people may compare them to last years Kaiser Chiefs, the Monkeys have shown on this album they are not a novelty band but a band that will be with us after the Heat reading, River Island buying, James Blunt listening mainstream have moved on to a new band.

A band to truly savour.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2006
I heard the rave review being given to the arctic monkeys on the radio and bought the album on a whim without ever having heard any of their music. What a fantastic album. The music rips in with a banging aggression that really gets you rocking and is quickly followed by lyrics that you just can't help but really listen to. Some of the tracks like Fake tales of san fransisco and from the rubble are pure poetry. I had to play mardy bum to my wife!! If you are married, listen to it and you'll know why.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2006
I bought this album (a)because I support new British talent and (b)on the strength of all the hype that this was one of the most important debut albums ever. So, I thought, it must be very special. Some great guitar and quirky lyrics but the whole thing left me disappointed and with no mad desire to rewind back to track 1. Gets better after a few listens but, for me, not up there with real great recent debut albums from Hard-Fi, Kaiser Chiefs, British Sea Power, Delays...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.85
£7.78

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)