Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Whatever Gets You Through The Day
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 20 April 2017
I cherish this album with the marvellous track also inserted onto this album ''Run'', it symbolises the love between a man and a woman in my opinion, and that they should never be apart from each other. They are all stand out tracks. Tunde Baiyewu is the lead singer and delivers with empathy and recognition. Good Album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Getting me through the days since '01
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2001
So Lighthouse Family return after about three years since their previous release "Postcards from Heaven" with such teriffic pop-tunes as "Raincloud" and "High". On "Whatever gets you through the day" the duo is back, and although the style is still catchy pop, with a tip of soul and gospel, the songs are somewhat more gloomy and melancholy. Tunde Baiyewu's voice is still penetrating and charismatic, but the music and the lyrics have taken a darker turn. A product of their new style is heard on the opening track, "Run", a jazzy song giving you a quiet flow. And continuing that way, the CD produces great ballads, good pop-song and melancholic tracks, making fans love the new style. "Whatever get you through the day" hasn't reallu got any weak spots, but listeners must be equiped with patience. The title track is top notch, and on their third album, Lighthouse Family are more experimenting and fresh as ever.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
At last! After what has seemed like an eternity, the Lighthouse Family are back, and the new album doesn't disappoint.It's instantly recognisable as
their work, and a couple of the tracks sound vaguely familiar, but the whole album is more subdued than 'Ocean Drive' and 'Postcards from Heaven'. The new single 'I wish I knew how it would feel to be free' is catchy, but after a few playings of the CD, I feel it's eclipsed by the melodic tracks 'You're a star' and 'You always want what you haven't got'. It's well worth the wait!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2002
How good is this album? Well if we could award 6 stars..! Every track has a catchy tune, while the lyrics are outstanding in their simplicity. I defy anyone who buys this album to be disappointed. If you've heard the singles or know the Lighthouse Family from their previous releases you should try this. And if you've not tried them before then START NOW!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2002
This ranks alongside the best albums this year. It is the most consistent album I have listened to this year, every song is great and I was not surprised to find that 'Run' is going to be the next song to be released from it as it is first class. Other potential classics include 'Happy', 'You always want what you haven't got' and 'wish' as they are the most catchy of all of the songs. If you buy this album you will not be disappointed at all! Well done Lighthouse Family, Top Class album!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2001
This cd is as good as the last one and I have a feeling it will turn out to be the best ever by the Lighthouse family. I feel the single release is one of the weaker tracks on the cd, which shows the strength of the content.
I like Run, Happy, End of the Sky. Best tracks though are Wish closely followed by Whatever Gets You Through The Day.
Very impressive stuff, I will be listening to this for a long time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2001
I have waited three years for this album. In that time Paul and Tunde have developed their sound - this is such a relaxing album. The first single (I Wish I Knew How It Feels To Be) Free/One is a fine, fine song.
Buy this album, listen and chill with a bottle of a wine. LHF fans will NOT be dissapointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2002
i bought this wondering would it compare to postcards from heaven and ocean drive - it did.
Great tunes, brilliant melodies and superb vocals by Tunde assures this album ranks up with the best of the year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2001
This CD is simply great. If you feel down, depressed and fed-up, this CD will indeed bring you feeling high and happy. All the tracks are brilliant and energising. My favourites are WISH -what a classic and HAPPY - portraying the fact that everyone has the ability to be Happy and RUN AWAY - a great to which you escape for the moment into a carefree world. This CD is one for the classics and one to have for the morning and night. You dont have to be a Lighthouse fan to buy this, you just need to appreciate good music and excellent lyrics. Well Done Lighthouse Family, you have certainly produced one of the best CDs of the year, (certainly be in my Top 5).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Ocean Drive
£3.45
Greatest Hits
£5.32

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)