Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.99

Save £11.00 (73%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

What the Raven Brings (Ravenmaster Trilogy) by [Theobald, John Owen]
Kindle App Ad

What the Raven Brings (Ravenmaster Trilogy) Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
Book 2 of 3 in Ravenmaster Trilogy (3 Book Series)

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£3.99

Length: 320 pages Word Wise: Enabled

40 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

'A beautiful book that I really recommend to anyone that likes historical fiction. 4.5/5' Books Books Books.

From the Inside Flap

The Blitz is over but the war rages on. Anna Cooper, now 14, bluffs her way into the air force and becomes entangled in the glamorous - and dangerous - world of female war pilots. But the secret of her past threatens both her and her fellow airwomen.

Timothy Squire takes charge of the Tower ravens, 'the heroes of the Blitz', displaying them to the public, including Anna's friend Flo, recently returned from evacuation. But Flo's interest is not with the ravens alone. Reeling from Anna's departure, Timothy throws himself into work at the docks as a Royal Engineer. Promoted to bomb expert, he soon finds himself at the centre of a powerful secret of his own: one that could win or lose Anna ... and the war itself.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4755 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Head of Zeus (1 Dec. 2016)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01DMCBBCI
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #566,893 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
This book was sent to me free of charge in exchange for an honest and fair review:

n this sequel to These Dark Wings, Anna is now 15, her Uncle Henry has passed on and she is not allowed to become Ravenmaster as her Uncle wished. So she leaves the tower and her Guardian Yeoman Oakes and becomes a female pilot in the ATA.
The mystery of Anna’s father, who she believed drowned when she was 5, and the death of her Mother are resolved, and she struggles to come to terms with it. She also struggles as a female pilot in a male dominated world, a world in which men believed that women were only capable of housework and looking after children..
Theobald’s existing characters really grow in this instalment and we meet fresh new characters as Anna journeys into adulthood.
Anna herself grows into a complex young woman, brave and determined but also scared of the future at a time when the outcome of the war was still in the balance. The description of her first flight in control of a plane is brilliant, I believed in Anna, I wanted her to succeed, rare is the author that can instil in me the care and concern I felt, not just for Anna but for her friend, Timothy and guardian, Yeoman Oakes. I also sympathised with Anna with regards to her best friend Flo, who seemed callous and shallow when she returned from Canada, in truth, I think she was just sheltered from the true horror of what was happening in the war.
I wish that there had been a book like this when I was growing up, a book with a strong female character, who is brave, feminine, uncertain, scared, confused and mostly human.
It is also wonderful to read about the work of the ATA.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved this book! It's beautifully written, action packed - I can't recommend it highly enough!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta) (May include reviews from Early Reviewer Rewards Program)

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for fans of Kimberly Brubaker Bradley and Kate Atkinson! 24 May 2017
By Wendy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
These books are fantastic. The second book, which takes place after the Blitz and sees Anna and Timothy Squires trying to do their bit for the war effort, is thrilling, what with dangers lurking around every corner, in the sky, and in miscommunication that threatens to keep them apart. The characters are three-dimensional and lovable in their flaws. One of the best historical YAs I've ever read. Can't wait fir part 3!
Was this review helpful? Let us know
click to open popover