Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
347
4.9 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
One of the best books I have read in a long time. Martinez' own brand of humour runs through this book, yet she still manages to drop in poignant moments that will leave you bleary eyed. Her self-description of being "Wobbly" is far more appropriate than other medical epithets that could be applied to her. She is unconventional certainly, yet as you read this book you'll find yourself feeling 'protective' and want to be her big brother or sister and just give her a big hug.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I have been meaning to read Francesca's book for a while. Having managed a quick gallop through the introduction meantime, I learned something very important. 'The only opinion of you that matters is your own...' Yes, of course. I have been muttering that like a mantra.

This evening I have settled down to read further on, and am startled, delighted and educated all at once. Francesca, I can sympathise with your dislike of the word 'disabled', but things have improved: in my day the words bandied around were 'handicapped'. 'mentally retarded' and 'spastic', all of which inspire such disgust in me that I was paralysed into doing nothing for far too long.

Needless to say - I'm going to say it anyway - I empathise with everything you write. But I also learn a lot, from your delight and joy, and can recognise the uncomfortable intrusion of reality into your own way of seeing the world, as you got older. I'm glad you found your way out from behind the wall, as I have.

Bless you, and thank you for a lovely book.

Fran Macilvey, author, 'Trapped: My Life with Cerebral Palsy'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
I enjoyed this book more than words can say! One of the funniest, warmest, easiest books I've ever read. Francesca Martinez and I have so much in common it's unbelievable. Interests, opinions, disability, experiences, friends... the list is endless. I can't wait to read her next book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
What I really liked about this book is that the dead hand of a ghostwriter is not in evidence. Anyone who's seen Francesca knows what to expect. Sadly, I've only seen her on TV, but she is always warm, funny, enthusiastic and quite often irreverent. All that and more comes over in her writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
I am physically disabled myself, and I love this book, as it shows whatever difficulties you have in life, you can achieve anything that you want to do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Best book I have read in years ...very funny, very touching and incredibly thought provoking .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
A wonderfully honest and funny account of her life and reflections on the label 'disabled'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Ok, I admit it. I've been putting off this review. You see the problem is I want the review to do justice to the book and Francesca. Also I know Francesca so I have that problem, no not the the -how do you tell someone you know that you don't like their work. No, the other problem- how do you lavish praise on them without it seeming creepy and also giving them a big head.

But anyway qualms aside, here's why you should buy this book:
It's in words that if you know the English language you will be able to read.
It has the best ever joke using chapter structure in a work of literature ever. EVER!
It is not inspiro-porn, and if you are a tad mystified or trepidatious about disability 'things' (or even the word trepidatious which is real by the way, I checked and everything), oh stop it and buy the book, problem solved!
Strip poker with male models? Oh she's a one!
It's very readable and once I had finished it went round my friends and family in rapid succession (sorry Francesca, cost you some sales there).
It achieves something the best autobiographies do, it allows a platform for the author to reflect and develop their thoughts and here she manages to do something really important in a time of austerity, consumerism and conformity: She combines the personal, social, political and ecological into a convincing argument to eschew the chains of normalcy and LIVE. The World needs it. So do you.
It has a poem in it, but it's actually really good, so that's ok.
It’s, kinda…exciting, because by the end you realise this is just the beginning, that there is so much more to come from Francesca and you’ll get to be part of the story too, because it’s really about all of us and the challenge to live well and kindly and bravely, not least with yourself. And we all struggle at that.
And have a lie in, sleep is important :)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
This book is enlightening, astounding and hilarious all that once. As a disabled person myself not only could I relate to a lot to what happened in this book, but the overall message really hit home.
HOWEVER this does not mean that you need to be disabled to love this book - you'll laugh and learn from it regardless! It's definitely my favourite book of this year, and should be read by all! Thank you Francesca.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)