A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £2.71 (34%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£5.03
Kindle price
£7.74
Paperback price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£2.71 (34%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
  • RRP: £7.99
  • You Save: £0.25 (3%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
What Belongs to You has been added to your Basket
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Bookdonors
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped from the UK. Used in Very Good Condition. We are a not-for-profit Social Enterprise trading in used books to help people, charities and the environment.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

What Belongs to You Paperback – 23 Mar 2016

3.7 out of 5 stars 56 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£7.74
£3.84 £0.07
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Great Discounts
Shop the Books Outlet. Discover some great deals on top titles. Shop now
click to open popover


Frequently bought together

  • What Belongs to You
  • +
  • The Lesser Bohemians
  • +
  • A Country Road, A Tree
Total price: £22.87
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Paperback: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Picador; Main Market edition (23 Mar. 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1447280520
  • ISBN-13: 978-1447280521
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 1.3 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars 56 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 113,824 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

What Belongs to You stands naturally alongside the great works of compromised sexual obsession such as Thomas Mann's Death in Venice . . . we are dealing with a writer who deserves his plaudits . . . I found myself unable to stop reading . . . Headily accomplished . . . an essential work of our time (Daily Telegraph *****)

Worthy of its comparisons to James Baldwin and Alan Hollinghurst as well as Virginia Woolf and W G Sebald . . . spellbinding . . . a novel of rejection and disgust, displacement and transcendence . . . I found myself trembling as I read it (Evening Standard)

A refreshingly slim, subdued and contemplative piece of work . . . Greenwell writes in long, consummately nuanced sentences, strung with insights and soaked in melancholy . . . What Belongs to You is an uncommonly sensitive, intelligent and poignant novel (Sunday Times)

I had thought of Hollinghurst as I read What Belongs to You, Greenwell's astonishingly assured debut novel, but questioned whether the parallel came to mind because both writers create vivid, enclosed worlds filled with ambiguous and shifting relationships between gay men. In fact, though, the greater similarity lies in their ability to blend a lyrical prose - the prose of longing, missed connections, grasped pleasures - with an almost uncanny depth of observation . . . [The] middle section [is] a masterful study in alienation and escape . . . Like the writers he admires, WG Sebald, Thomas Bernhard and Javier Marías, he is drawn to the idea of a body of work that seems as though it is all one book, or, as with Sebald in particular, a territory in which the reader wanders. It is perhaps too soon to say precisely what Greenwell's own fictional territory will look like - but even this early on, the landscape looks too riveting to miss (Alex Clark Guardian)

A rich, important debut, an instant classic to be savored by all lovers of serious fiction because of, not despite, its subject: a gay man's endeavor to fathom his own heart (Aaron Hamburger New York Times Book Review)

Brilliantly self-aware . . . Greenwell's novel impresses for many reasons, not least of which is how perfectly it fulfills its intentions. But it gains a different power from its uneasy atmosphere of psychic instability, of confession and penitence, of difficult forces acknowledged but barely mastered and beyond the conscious control of even this gifted novelist (James Wood New Yorker)

With What Belongs to You American literature is richer by one masterpiece. The character Mitko is unforgettable, as all myths are. He reigns at the heart of this book, surrounded by the magic flames of desire (Edmund White, author of A Boy's Own Story)

A powerful novel from a writer who seems destined to produce fine work in the years ahead, describing both the condition of loneliness and the insistent cravings of the flesh with precision and sensitivity. [Greenwell] never seeks to manipulate our emotions, but creates a narrative voice so enigmatic that one feels both affection and disdain for him simultaneously. Too often in fiction it becomes clear how an author wants the reader to feel, but Greenwell's character is too complex a creation for any easy judgments. And that is what will make both him and this novel particularly memorable (John Boyne Irish Times)

In his spare, haunting novel, Garth Greenwell takes a well-known narrative and finds new meaning in it. What Belongs to You is a searching and compassionate meditation on the slipperiness of desire, the impossibility of salvation, and the forces of shame, guilt, and yearning that often accompany love, rendered in language as beautiful and vivid as poetry (Hanya Yanagihara, author of A Little Life)

There's a particular joy in reading Garth Greenwell, in having that feeling, precious and rare: here is the real thing (Claire Messud, author of The Woman Upstairs)

Book Description

For fans of Boy Erased, What Belongs to You portrays the damage inflicted on LGBT people by the negative judgement of family and society.

See all Product description

56 customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars

By customer groups & interests
Literature
3.3
Literary Fiction
4.0
Fiction Books
3.8

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 56 reviews

12 December 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
23 December 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
4 October 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
17 April 2016
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
2 October 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
5 February 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
29 July 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
4 December 2017
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?