Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2008
My partner and I used this guide while completing the camino in May 2007 and August 2008. The limitations of the guide were obvious last year but as it did contain some useful information, e.g. the distances between vilages we took it with us again this year supplemented by the Confraternity of St James 2008 acommodation guide. From observing other publications while we were there and also research on the net it seems as if there are a lot more useful guides out there. One crucial ommission relates to contour levels and hence level of difficulty and timings between vilages. The pilgrim office at St Jean Pied de Port gives out a useful sheet with this information which many people use. As the previous reviewer says too much space is used giving unnecessary route directions and the information about places to stay is hopelessly out of date. I also think that saying that the average person could complete the route comfortably in 4 or 5 weeks with days off at various places is misleading and could cause people to pack to much walking into their days resulting in injury.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2006
Good book for carrying with you on the camino. Well written and easy to read. Misses though on listing all the Albergues along the way, and takes too much space giving directions that are not needed on the Camino.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Alison Raju's pocket-size guide to the Camino scores on a number of points. It is small and really pocket-sized; the maps are excellent (considering the size); the directions are clear; the extra info is well-chosen. My only very slight gripe is that in the 3 years since the updates were added, clearly things have changed quite a lot but I realise that any printed item is by necessity out-of date as soon as it is printed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2014
Notable book although would need more local details (on the towns and village) and less geographic bore.

Is really good to planify the trip...less good to know historical or current details on the towns and cities.

Still a good purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Excellent buy. It gives a concise history of the pilgrimage and some guidance on how to prepare for it - if you intend to do it! We just wanted to know more about it and this is what this handy book does.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Excellent if you are doing the walk but little detail regarding tourist information of the cities en route.
Well priced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
for someone doing a full walking pilgrimage it would be great and my copy is already with someone planning just that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Fast delivery, however, book was average quality with many stains on pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
null