Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33


on 23 September 2017
This book is for you if:
You are at the verge of making your own watch
Want to know how a watch is made
You're a watch nerd and everything that has the word 'watch ' in it, needs to be bought.

On the serious note, this book is fantastically detailed and a good source of knowledge when it comes to watch making and the tools you'll need to do so. So, if this is what you want to know. The work and knowledge behind watch making, then this book is a must have.

But, if your looking for a book talking about the history of the movements and how a mechanical watch and its different complications work in detail. Then this book is not for you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2014
This is a really good book, documenting the process by which each part of a hand made automatic watch is produced.

In an age of mass production, CNC, Spark erosion, drum polishing etc, this book captures a fading art: the true craftsman making a top quality watch from metal bar. Model makers and those involved in small machines can learn so much from this book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2014
I bought this as a gift for my father who is interested in watch making. I know very little about the subject, but leafing through it I can tell that this is an extremely exhaustive and well informed book. Excellent clear diagrams and the like. It's far bigger than expected and I'm fairly sure it'll be a while before I can buy my father another book on the same subject. Brilliant!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2017
Mr Daniels is no longer with us but he has left a rich legacy in this book. I am not a watchmaker but Mr Daniels explains many workshop techniques and practice that can be used by anyone with a workshop. It is an expensive book but well worth the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2016
The content is what is expected to be. The whole description inside the book of how to make a mechanical watch from 0 to Hero.
The Grand Master Timekeeper George Daniels is doing his best, so that each person when it reads the book content, will understand it as its supposed to be.
One of the best valued books, life stories and knowledge inside regarding the watches on the market.
Thank you
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2017
Acknowledged as the 'bible' for hand-made watch making. Also much useful information regarding different escapement movements. Not cheap, but excellent value for the amount of information and diagrams.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2016
A must buy book for those wishing to increase their knowledge about horology fantastic photos and diagrams of the internal workings of the complex mechanical workings of George's best watches, a fantastic legacy to a great man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2013
This book explains how to build you own watch in simple steps. I will be using this as a reference for years to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2014
Very thorough book. I'm not sure how helpful it is for beginning watchmakers though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2013
Comprehensive and the very unique source of the knowledge about how watches are manufactured and designed. Real mastepiece of writing on engineering.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)