Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.3 out of 5 stars
9
2.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
6
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2002
I rececied my order for this book from Amazon and read it through cover to cover. As one who grew up in those times I could relate to the book in every way and it made me feel quite homesick. This writer tells it as it was and is not scared to admit to getting a kicking from rival fans unlike some of the books on the subject I have read. It tells how the East end was and the fans of the time, tough uncompromising lads who stood together from the Mile End area and took no backward steps. Many might be shocked with its honest brutality as the book pulls no punches. It is simply a West Ham fans story, as seen by the author who doesn't claim any fame or big man role and openly says so - just one of the lads from the area who followed West Ham. For me this book has got 'movie' written all over it and I would love to see it on the big screen in its entirety.The best on the subject around - honest, violent and sometimes funny, what more could you ask? It reads as though you were hearing the author speak and the rough edges of his writing style only enhance that feeling. For anyone wishing to buy this book dont hesitate, it is well worth the money and the photos show what the old skinhead scene was really about. 5 stars A MUST
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2004
One of the worst books I've ever read, all these idiots releasing football hooligan books is going too far, especially when they're not even well written like this one. Buy "Scally" a much more entertaining read I found.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2005
This book was so bad I couldn't finish it, humourless, monotonous, unintelligent etc. I don't know how much Cass Penannt was involved here, very little I imagine because his books are vastly superior to this boring drivel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
It is basically a list of the names of opposing Football teams and how well the author felt he did in injuring that teams fans. It is poorly written, witless, self indulgent claptrap.

"Liverpool at home - we did 'em well good, next week was Arsenal away - we did em well good etc etc etc etc etc etc etc"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2014
never finished book,only time was not trouble at games was when mickey was not there,why do these books never write when they get done,don,t know why mickey and his crew didn,t fight in vietnam they would have won that as well,crap book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2003
This book simply is not interesting. It's probably of some nostalgic interest if you were there, but it is poorly organised, poorly written and monotonous.
There are far better books around, like Congratulation You have just met the ICF (actually written by Cass Pennant, one of the co-authors here) that tells you just as much and is far better written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2003
Dont bother, the only one of all the hoolie books I bought and never finished.
Written poorly and boring.
Gave it up when I read, Our next away game was Everton AWAY???
Ever had an away game at home!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
GOOD CONDITION & WELL MADE A++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2004
while i was not certain of why the english fans fight at football,this book tells what it was like at the time ,the rivarlys the competion and so on ,i now know a little better ,while the authors grammar is not old school english ,it is not without its charm ,and it took me a while to work some of the slang words out .in fact i had to ask why tottenham fans are called y**ds and so one. Now i know ,not without its charm ,this is one of the better books i have read about the football culture which is england ,if only they had the same passion about cricket .But saying that,i would advise readers if the brutal truth offends you then dont read this book ,as it cleary explains ,what the times were like .Great reading ,even if the grammar is poor ,but takeing into acount the author explains that ,that he was a fighter not a writer no doubt from poor schooling i can understand that A MUST READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse