Walton - Coronation Te De... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Walton - Coronation Te Deum CD

Price: £16.25 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
22 new from £7.98 6 used from £5.48
£16.25 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 2 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's Polyphony Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. A Queen's Fanfare
  2. Coronation Te Deum
  3. A Litany
  4. The Twelve
  5. Set Me As a Seal Upon Thine Heart
  6. Magnificat
  7. Nunc Dimittis
  8. Where Does the Uttered Music Go?
  9. Jubilate Deo
  10. Kyrie
  11. Sanctus and Benedictus
  12. Agnus Dei
  13. Gloria
  14. Cantico Del Sole
  15. A Litany
  16. Make We Joy Now in This Fest
  17. King Herod and the Cock
  18. All This Time
  19. What Cheer?
  20. A Litany
  21. Antiphon

Product Description

Product Description

HYP 67330; HYPERION - Inghilterra;


This is a cracking release--crackling from the outset with a wonderfully crisp Coronation Te Deum. Hyperion may have been beaten to the post by Naxos's Walton centenary album, of much the same repertory from the Choir of St John's College, Cambridge, but this is a worthy release also.

Polyphony and conductor Stephen Layton have impressed so often for Hyperion, but perhaps haven't always displayed the last ounce of star quality, as if despite their pedigree much of the wide-ranging repertoire they've recorded isn't totally bedded in. Here, though, there can be barely a reservation. Bags of conviction and character, a truly thrilling sound when the singers let go--and they're mightily impressive in the more complex music such as the meaty mini-Cantata The Twelve and Cantico del Sole. The Missa Brevis and other liturgical numbers may have been written with boy choristers in mind but the Polyphony sound embraces them convincingly. We're treated to three separate versions of the well-travelled A Litany, and also to a string of familiar Christmas "fillers", such as All This Time and What Cheer?. Overall this is a good, clean recording (made in two venues). --Andrew Green

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa1583d14) out of 5 stars 1 review
HASH(0x9daa9750) out of 5 stars This recording did not disappoint. 5 Nov. 2014
By Tim G - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Walton and Layton's Polyphony was too enticing a combination to resist. This recording did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category