£11.99 + £1.26 delivery
In stock. Sold by Vocalion/Dutton Epoch Direct (Crazygreen8)

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Walter Braunfels Vol. 3: Don Gil von den grünen Hosen Suite/Konzertstücke/Die Vogel/Serenade/Don Gil Prelude [SACD HYBRID] stereo only Hybrid SACD

Price: £11.99
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Hybrid SACD
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Vocalion/Dutton Epoch Direct (Crazygreen8).
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 90 days free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get 90 days free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Product details

  • Audio CD
  • Format: Hybrid SACD
  • Label: Dutton Epoch
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 569,648 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Dutton Epoch's first two volumes of music by Walter Braunfels were a revelation to many to whom the composer was just a name. This third volume concentrates on music written between 1910 and 1946. It is surprising that the glorious four-movement Serenade is not a regular repertoire work for it is a memorable discovery, reflecting as it does a pre-First World War innocence. Braunfels's opera Die Vögel (The Birds) was his first great success after the war; the interlude Die Taubenhochzeit (The Doves' Wedding) makes an appealing encore. The Prelude from another of Braunfels's operas, Don Gil von den grünen Hosen (Don Gil of the Green Breeches), launches this programme in ringing Straussian terms, while the Dances and Tunes suite from the same opera is delightfully lyrical. In 1946, Braunfels wrote the Konzertstück in C sharp minor for piano and orchestra, in which pianist Piers Lane is a sparkling soloist. 1 Don Gil von den grünen Hosen: Vorspiel op.35/1 (1921-23) Tanz und Melodien: suite aus der Oper Don Gil von den grünen Hosen op.35/2 (1921-23)
2 i Zwischenspiel: Vorhang (Lebhaft)
3 ii Savoyarden Lied (Mässig)
4 iii Arietta (Zeiter aufgang)
5 iv Lied (Beroegt)
6 v Zwischenspiel (Sehr schnell)
7 vi Finale (Allegro molto)

Konzertstücke in C-sharp minor for piano and orchestra op.64 (1946) PL
8 Moderato
9 Doppelt so rasch
10 Langsam [cadenza]
11 Allegro molto

Die Taubenhochzeit aus der Oper Die Vögel op.30 no.2 (1913-19)
12 Sehrlebhaft (So schnell als möglich)

Serenade op. 20 (1910)
13 i Leicht bewegt
14 ii Lebhaft, ausgelassen
15 iii Ruhig
16 iv Die achtel fast so rasch wie bisher die viertel

BBC Concert Orchestra
Johannes Wildner conductor
PL Piers Lane piano

This SACD is compatible with all CD players

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 5.0 out of 5 stars 2 reviews
Don J. D.
5.0 out of 5 starsA fine recording of overlooked repertoire !
29 April 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.
Ken Peter Johnson
5.0 out of 5 starsPiers Lane nails it like he's been playing it for years (maybe he has
4 June 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
6 people found this helpful.