Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 January 2012
I havent quite finished reading this book yet.It is well written and seems an honest account of what took place.Do I think the king was treated badly by the royal family-yes Do I think abdication was the right thing to do-yes. The outcome being the present Queen who was born for the role.Do I think Wallis wanted out of the situation-most certainly.There was nowhere to run she had no option but to stay with the man who had given up the throne for her. What did the King see in her. She gave him the mothering he yearned for mixed with the put downs of his father she made him feel complete
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Although King asserts that this is by no means a 'definitive' work of the Duchess' life, it is the closet we shall perhaps ever come. The first book to truly cut through the sensationalism and down-right lies that surround her life, 'Wallis' does not give a pitiful account of the Duchess' life but, finally, an accurate one. The comparison with Diana, Princess of Wales is deeply poignant. Having read widely on the Duchess, this is by far the most reliable, accurate account available.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
If you would like to know more of what REALLY happened then read this FAB book. Poor Wallis has been much maligned over the years. But this book is so enlightening and very well written I couldnt put it down.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
I really enjoyed this book and have read it with a renewed insight to how Wallis and Edward were regarded by our Royal Family. I was shocked at how they were cast-out by them and how they were treated both during their life times and after their deaths. Yes Edward abdicated and he could have been crowned and kept Wallis as his mistress but he loved her too much to do this to her. I think that they should have given Wallis the title of HRH because of the all the work she did both at home and abroad during her lifetime. Edward V1 and Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother were particularly bad not to mention Queen Mary, his own Mother!

Greg King I thought did an excellent job with this book and when I finished reading it I felt really sad that they had both been treated so badly and tried to imagine how they must have both felt. At least they had each other and their love for each other until they were parted in death and nobody could take that away from them. I now think of the Royal Family in a different light since reading this book and hope that I do not get sent of to The Tower!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
Greg King writes a riveting yet sympathetic portrayal of two of the most maligned and misunderstood man and woman in British history. The Duke and Duchess of Windsor had a true and lasting love, altogether bittersweet. 'If only' comes to mind a lot while reading this book. Different times, different life choices, and perhaps, in the Duke's case, different in-laws. Loved this book and would recommend it to anyone interested in the truth of this enduring pair.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
Very interesting account of the lifes of the couples who went through hell to eventually be thrown out of this country. Why Camiila and Charles have different treatment?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Wallis Simpson did not want Edward VIII to abdicate and had they been allowed to marry, there was no reason that they couldn't. The majority of the people wished the king to marry Wallis Simpson who would have taken the title of Duchess of Cornwall. The way in they were treated by the new king and his wife was despicable and it is understandable that the Duke and Duchess of Windsor were hurt and very disappointed. The Duchess of Windsor fulfilled her duties of filling the empty life of an ex king very well, she did live an empty life but that had forced upon her. Elizabeth Lyon who had wanted so desperately to marry the Prince of Wales never forgave him for refusing her advances. Elizabeth Lyon also disliked Wallis Simson for her slim elegant figure and innate dress sense. When she connived to remove him from the throne she ensured that Wallis Simson would never receive her rightful title of HRH and imposed a life in exile upon them as she was terrified that there would be a King's party still wishing to remove the simple, alcoholic King George VI.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
A very readable biography about Wallis Simpson, from early childhood through her first two marriages to her relationship with Edward VIII, the man who gave up the throne of England to marry her. An honest retelling of their marriage and widowhood.

It treads the fine line between not being too sympathetic or too critical and blows most of the myths surrounding Wallis out of the water. All of the most scurrilous rumours are discussed and laid to rest. Overall, a rather sad tale. Really recommend this book to anyone interested in the period. Would definitely watch out for more by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Cannot put it down. Just so interesting. Recommend to everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
This book does not fail!It is fascinating and addictive.I have friends queuing up to read this.Necessary if you want to know the truth about this woman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here