Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2007
This is a really useful guide with detailed descriptions and maps for 41 walks covering the whole island. This means that there are walks for everyone in here, from strolls along the coast to serious routes which require a rope and a head for heights. The routes are presented in a way that allow the walker to combine two routes for a big challenge, or include short cuts and amendments according to interest. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
This guidebook suggests some really nice and varied tours for just about every taste and skill level. The tours are well described, thus easy to find, map sections illustrate the path (but please don't go without compass and a good map).

What I really like is the detailed and realistic description of the anticipated difficulties, but also highlights. It does not always stick to the official trails. But if "pathless moorlands, requiring good navigation skills" or "after wrestling with the boulders ..." are alluded to, you just know beforehand and can consider whether you want to make the current tour in the current general weather situation. And when good, firm and dry ground is stated, it is correct and you can safely go off according to (at least without fear of sinking in the bog or on the way to take an involuntary bath ;-)) Additional, on top of each tour description there are detailed information about distances, height gains and terrain conditions. Thus, this guidebook doesn't give a "traffic light" evaluation, as I saw it in several tour descriptions, but an honest description of the basic parameters, and then you can assess themselves accordingly to your own skills and experience.

The book also provides background information (but without intention to replace a history book) about the places and objects of interest as well as information on refreshments, also good general information on public and private transport. A small Gaelic-English glossary and a proper collection of links complete the guidebook.

Another plus is the small and handy size, ideal to take with you on the tours.

Overall, therefore, an all-round guidebook to be highly recommended for those who want to discover and explore the beautiful island of Arran :-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
I have walked on Arran for many years and know it better than most.
However, this book introduced me to aspects that I've missed on my travels.
The book, like all of Paddy Dillon's books, is exceptionally accurate and well written (only thing I found incorrect was in the travel section where he talked about the Post Bus. Unfortunately the Post Bus no longer runs).
Many of the mountains on Arran are as dangerous as their big brothers on the mainland but I'd contend that few of those on the mainland could match the views on Arran.
There are a good few books that describe walking and scrambling on Arran but this one is probably the best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2010
Good range of walks from short and easy to more serious which are beyond my bravery level.
Well described and well mapped it seems to be the best book for the more adventurous walker and climber.
You really need to read the descriptions as some of the walks are in areas without paths and may include crossing streams. Make sure you have a map and compass as well as the book, you may need them if the weather closes in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I am about to go on a walking holiday on the Isle of Arran for the first time and I wanted something to get me started. I have used Cicerone guides in the past and always found them useful. This is well up to standard and written by one of Cicerone's veteran authors. A good selection of walks around the island of varying lengths and grades. Clearly written with good maps and photographs plus some useful background notes on the island. The physical format of these guides is very robust. A neat pocket size with laminated covers and pages to withstand the rain and midges! Excellent value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Lovely little book. Small enough to take on walks & has a waterproof cover so it won't get ruined in my rucksack. I love Arran but have never been on any planned hikes so this was great. Especially the information about the island.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
Sent for book as we are going on hol to Arran. Really comprehensive info about the island and loads of walks, with varying levels of difficulty. Really pleased with book which arrived promptly and will use loads on hol.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
I've bought this book for a planned walk on the Isle of Arran next year. It arrived very promptly and offers all the information I require to plan and enjoy the walk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Plenty of walks to choose from of all levels and abilities. Some interesting facts about the locations too. Well priced and informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
See comment on Walking on Orkney & Shetland Isles - I would thoroughly recommend series to serious or occasional walkers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)