Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
11
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
2
Format: Flexibound|Change
Price:£15.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2011
This has to be one of the most useful walking books I've ever purchased.
All the details included give a accurate picture of where you are walking, and what to look out for,(especially the hazardous & difficult bits!)
Loved the straight forward language so you didn't have to keep refering to the book once out on the hike.
Certainly recommend this to anyone contemplating a walking holiday in Austria.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This guide is a must if you are going to trek in the Austrian Alps. The only problem with it is its weight. Is just too heavy to curry with you on the trek. it would be useful if they publish it in two volumes. Otherwise, it provides useful essential information on the the valleys and accommodation and travel, also with public transport, with phone numbers where you can ask information. Most importantly, gives concise but complete descriptions of paths to huts and of the the hut to hut routes, and the occasional climb. It would be even better if, split in two volumes, it would provide more descriptions of possible detours to climb peaks from the various huts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
This book gives an excellent mixture of easy, hard, long and short walks in Austria. It is ideally suited to someone with their own transport planning to do some walking in Austria. I have used this book twice, on my first big walking holiday with my wife and on a recent trip with my wife and parents, totalling 6 weeks of walking. There are walks to suit all abilities and most walks can be easily modified to suit your needs. Seasoned walkers may not be challenged by this book. Perhaps a hut to hut tour would suit them better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
A realy good book lots of information great photes well written hoping to go to austria in a few months looking forward to hike some of the walking trails in the book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
I was very disappointed with the coverage of this book

1. there were several major alpine areas that were not covered - such as the Schladminger Tauen, the Karwendel, Alps, teh alps in Carinthia or the Wetterstein Gebirge - substantial gaps
2. the walks, apart from the hut-to-hut walks, were overwhelmingly too short. very few consisted of full day walks - which was was I was interested in.

So the book was of very little help to me in planning 4 weeks of day walking in the Austrian mountain areas.

all in all, a waste of money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Very interesting and useful book , some good walks and easy to follow. Excellent book for first time walkers to have in there back packs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Very well put together guide.
Ideal format with flexible cover, which makes it easier to use on the mountain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
I look at this and use it when I am away
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Liked the copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)