A lower priced version of this book is available
Save £9.89 (58%) by choosing the Kindle Edition.
£3.99
Kindle price
£13.88
Hardcover price

Save <span class="a-color-price">£9.89 (58%)</span> by choosing the Kindle Edition. Read now with the free Kindle app
Available on iOS, Android, Mac & PC.
  • RRP: £16.99
  • You Save: £3.11 (18%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Wages of Sin: A compe... has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Laika Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Generally good copy, with pages free of writing but may contain some signs of wear or age, these may include creased cover, fanned edge, name in cover, and other similar signs of use. Ships direct from Amazon!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Wages of Sin: A compelling tale of medicine and murder in Victorian Edinburgh Hardcover – 1 Jun 2017

4.1 out of 5 stars 56 customer reviews
Book 1 of 2 in the Sarah Gilchrist Series

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£13.88
£4.00 £1.46
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases


Product details

  • Hardcover: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Tinder Press (1 Jun. 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1472239814
  • ISBN-13: 978-1472239815
  • Product Dimensions: 16.2 x 3 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 56 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 614,107 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery (Sunday Express)

An enthrallingly gothic murder mystery (The Herald)

A gripping story, a great central character and full of riotous, beautifully drawn period detail (Kate Hamer)

Edinburgh is the superb gothic setting for this nail-biting debut (Fabulous Magazine)

The first book in what will, one hopes, be a long-running series, featuring a new kind of historical leading lady, Welsh's debut is an inspiring feminist tale perfect for the modern age (Library Journal, Debut of the Month)

Welsh makes clever use of the conventions of the genre while throwing in a twist informed by modern sensibilities. Damp, sooty, moralistic, and sinning Edinburgh is convincingly evoked. A gritty detective story as unflinching as its heroine, rich in well-researched period detail (Kirkus Reviews)

Atmosphere, murder, a strong heroine, a flawed hero and a stunning twist - The Wages of Sin has it all. I hope we'll be reading more by Kaite Welsh. And I hope it will involve Sarah Gilchrist. (My Weekly Magazine)

I absolutely loved The Wages of Sin, and especially the funny, feisty Sarah Gilchrist, a Victorian feminist for modern times. Transported between the horrors of medical dissection rooms, the back streets of Edinburgh, opium dens and brothels, I was captivated, right to the very end (Catherine Hall, author of THE PROOF OF LOVE and DAYS OF GRACE)

A tremendous debut (Daily Record)

A gripping story of murder, medicine and misogyny in Victorian Britain (Emerald Street)

Book Description

A gripping new historical crime series set in the underworld of Victorian Edinburgh, featuring medical student-turned-detective Sarah Gilchrist, for fans of Sarah Waters and Antonia Hodgson.

See all Product description

56 customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

Showing 1-8 of 56 reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWER
13 August 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
16 March 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
13 July 2018
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
1 August 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
6 June 2017
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
19 June 2017
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
VINE VOICE
5 May 2017
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
11 June 2017
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?