Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £3.99

Save £5.00 (56%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Wages of Sin by [Welsh, Kaite]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Wages of Sin Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 42 customer reviews

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£3.99

Length: 336 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Product description

Review

This powerful novel combines a disturbing look at late Victorian attitudes towards women and morality with a satisfying murder mystery (Sunday Express)

An enthrallingly gothic murder mystery (The Herald)

A gripping story, a great central character and full of riotous, beautifully drawn period detail (Kate Hamer)

Edinburgh is the superb gothic setting for this nail-biting debut (Fabulous Magazine)

The first book in what will, one hopes, be a long-running series, featuring a new kind of historical leading lady, Welsh's debut is an inspiring feminist tale perfect for the modern age (Library Journal, Debut of the Month)

Welsh makes clever use of the conventions of the genre while throwing in a twist informed by modern sensibilities. Damp, sooty, moralistic, and sinning Edinburgh is convincingly evoked. A gritty detective story as unflinching as its heroine, rich in well-researched period detail (Kirkus Reviews)

Atmosphere, murder, a strong heroine, a flawed hero and a stunning twist - The Wages of Sin has it all. I hope we'll be reading more by Kaite Welsh. And I hope it will involve Sarah Gilchrist. (My Weekly Magazine)

I absolutely loved The Wages of Sin, and especially the funny, feisty Sarah Gilchrist, a Victorian feminist for modern times. Transported between the horrors of medical dissection rooms, the back streets of Edinburgh, opium dens and brothels, I was captivated, right to the very end (Catherine Hall, author of THE PROOF OF LOVE and DAYS OF GRACE)

A tremendous debut (Daily Record)

A gripping story of murder, medicine and misogyny in Victorian Britain (Emerald Street)

Book Description

A gripping new historical crime series set in the underworld of Victorian Edinburgh, featuring medical student-turned-detective Sarah Gilchrist, for fans of Sarah Waters and Antonia Hodgson.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1669 KB
  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Tinder Press (1 Jun. 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01HU1173U
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 42 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #28,045 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

VINE VOICE
5 May 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
30 May 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE
7 August 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?