Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2016
Koren's clarity and thorough discussion of all aspects of wabi-sabi is hugely useful to anyone who doesn't have a Japanese cultural background. I really liked the way he explained the historical marketing incentive for keeping wabi-sabi an inscrutable concept. He sees wabi-sabi as an endangered species even within Japan and the whole book makes a good case for adoption of it's principles by non-Japanese. There are some great pictures too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Fascinating book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
A clear, basic introduction to Wabi-Sabi.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
I dont see the big fuss about this book. Wasn't for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Comprehensive, well written and laid out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Very good thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Koren at his best, a short concise introduction to thoughts surrounding imperfection, the incomplete and impermanent. Beauty of Japanese aesthetics in a pocket sized book that packs a punch. I have three copies, one in the studio, one on the bedside table and one in my bag.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
There was nothing I didn't like about this book, it captivated me from the first page to the last. Easy to read and also very informative, it presents clear notions of what Wabi-Sabi is and what it is not. It goes down to the roots of the concept and follows its evolution through time and space. The comparisons with our Western art principles are also very clear and helpful. I'd recommend this book to almost anyone who likes reading and very specially to some Western authors who publish their own books on Wabi-Sabi techniques using colours and textures in great excess, that are exactly the contrary to the Wabi-Sabi approach.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
This is the second time I've brought this book as a gift for a creative loved one. Hope one day to buy my own copy. A really beautiful looking book on the Japanese aesthetic wabi-sabi - the acceptance of transience and imperfection. Recommend it for anyone that sees beauty in the imperfect, impermanent and incomplete...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse