Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2012
"Sting In The Tale" was obviously very much a labor of love for Mr Upton. His love & passion for all things W.A.S.P. shine through on the pages of the book.

On the plus side - The interviews, there are some very in depth interviews with tons of ex-members that are worth getting the book for alone. The detail also about the early years of the band are also informative & interesting & there are some great color pics.

On the negative side - There are a number of errors. For example a picture of the Headless Children line-up is captioned as the Idol line-up, a number of release dates are incorrect (Headless was released on the 3rd April in the UK, 15th Worldwide) & the discography at the back is also sparse & incomplete (no track listings & complete omission of the "I Am One" single). Also certain periods of the band are dealt with very quickly - 1993 to 1995 gets barely 4 pages despite 2 albums being released & W.A.S.P. being disbanded by Blackie in late 93.

Hopefully any future editions will correct the errors & maybe expand some more on certain eras of the band.

If you are a W.A.S.P. fan though - you need to read it. And to Mr Upton - Thanks for putting the book together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
First of all, the service i received from the author, darren upton, has been first class. I ordered the book on sunday evening and it arrived tuesday morning. I tore the package open and took out the book and was immediately impressed. I then opened the book to find a personal note written from darren. Nice touch. Onto the book itself. I read it through straight away. Couldn't put it down. It transported me straight back into my youth when as a young metalhead i was blown away with my first concert, a new band called w.a.s.p. I followed them with every interview and concert and the book took me straight back into that time. Darren captures the very essence of everything w.a.s.p. Brilliant book, brilliant service. Cheers darren
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
Absolutely fantastic book!
A must have for every W.A.S.P. fan.
Great job. What else can I say, find out yourselves!
I have spoken!

\m/
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
What Darren has achieved with his Biography is to balance his own unbridled enthusiasm with relevent and interesting evidence, this has been achieved thorough interviews with band members and fans alike. The bands history and time line has be accurately researched. The result is a W.A.S.P account that chronicles the bands somewhat 'colourful' career. We the reader are left wanting more - and it seems that W.A.S.P have plenty of fuel left in the tank yet !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Me and my husband are big wasp fans and this book was just awesome read the book in a few hours couldnt put it down it was that good and also had a lot of facts about wasp and its band members i never knew, this is a must for any wasp fan a great read just need Blackie Lawless to do a biography now that would be awesome rock on ......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
Welcome, I bid you Welcome, to life inside the electric circus !!.
If you are a current fan of the band W.A.S.P or ever have been in the past this excellent book gives an impressive insight into the band from the early days and the various line ups and musicians of the band. W.A.S.P from their early days of blood and gore and shock rock tactics of stage drama from the first tour right through The last command , Inside the electric circus and headless Children , The Crimson Idol tours as well as all other subsequent album releases and tours, this is all covered in great detail with insights into the creative masterpiece mind of the ringleader Blackie Lawless who has always been the main creative driving force and able to deliver great songwriting and music that varies from album to album so W.A.S.P never fails to excite and always delivers excellent music and songwriting . The Author interviews past members of the band for their views and catches up to date with the current W.A.S.P situation. The whole creative musical period of the band is written about in wonderful detail and you will enjoy reading about your beloved W.A.S.P And be unable to put this book down and read it cover to cover as I did in one go !!. Complete with a W.A.S.P family tree covering year by year band members this is an excellent reference point and also published within the book are rare colour and black and white pictures, some never seen before !!. Complete with W.A.S.P discography this book is a surely a must to have and you will learn much about the man behind the W.A.S.P vision thanks to the release of this book which the Author must be given great credit for writing and researching in great detail, This release is a credit to the Author, the Band and is published in first class quality with great attention to detail. My Personal copy was personally signed by the Author Darren P. Upton with my request and do yourself a favour and purchase one before it goes out of stock again.......If you snooze, you lose !!.....You will regret not owning a copy of this masterpiece.One of the best books I have read in quite a while to catch up on my favourite metal heroes of the '80's and '90's and still going strong with excellent releases. Five ***** Star Biography. EXCELLENT !.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2011
I have to say one of the nicest quality books i have purchased in awhile. Great color photos and great outer binding. Darren has researched the history of w.a.s.p. with love and care and who doesn't love Chris Holmes ramblings about his time in the w.a.s.p. camp. Awesome job go buy one NOW!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2011
Anyone who says they are a fan and dont have this book is not a fan, Darren nails a lot of things most fans dont know from the beginning on. the pics in the book are killer and a lot I haven't ever seen. Do yourself a favor and get it before it is sold out again!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Excellent biography from the hard rock icons WASP. Interviews with some of the past members from the band history, and a general view of their entire career.
A book about WASP, I never thought this could be happen!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Great book i am a big wasp fan and i read the book from cover to cover in a day really interesting facts i didnt know a must for any wasp fan well worth a read.:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)