Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Noticed Amazon have provided a list of the titles but not the artists.

So thought this would be of use.
Disc 1

1. I Put A Spell On You - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
2. Evil' (Is Going On) - Howlin' Wolf
3. I Been Dealing With The Devil - Sonny Boy Williamson
4. Bad Blood - Champion Jack Dupree
5. Burnin' Hell - John Lee Hooker
6. I Know It's A Sin - Jimmy Reed
7. Me And The Devil Blues - Robert Johnson
8. She Belongs To The Devil - Washboard Sam
9. Must Have Been The Devil - Otis Spann
10. Sinful Woman - Elmore James
11. Devil Got My Woman - Skip James
12. I've Been Tricked - Casey Bill Weldon
13. Black And Evil Blues - Josh White
14. Drinking Woman - John Brim
15. Gettin' Drunk - Johnny "Guitar" Watson
16. Root Doctor - Doctor Clayton
17. Sinful Blues - Bessie Smith
18. Hoodoo Lady - Memphis Minnie
19. Evil Hearted Woman - T-Bone Walker
20. The Devil Has Thrown Him Down - Sister Rosetta Tharpe
Disc 2

1. I'd Rather Be The Devil - Otis Spann
2. Evil Woman - Champion Jack Dupree
3. Preaching Blues (Up Jumped The Devil) - Robert Johnson
4. Little Demon - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
5. Hoodoo Hoodoo - Sonny Boy Williamson
6. Snake Doctor Blues - J.D. Short
7. Black Cat Bone - Lightnin' Hopkins
8. Somebody Done Hoodooed The Hoodoo Man - Louis Jordan
9. I Asked For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline) - Howlin' Wolf
10. Black Cat Bone Blues - Bobby Leecan And Robert Cooksey
11. Nasty Boogie - Champion Jack Dupree
12. Evil Hearted Man - Josh White
13. Two Faced Woman - Curley Weaver
14. Blue Spirit Blues - Bessie Smith
15. Hoodoo Women - Johnnie Temple
16. Louisiana Hoo Doo Blues - Ma Rainey
17. Hoodoo Lady Blues - Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup
18. Street Walking Woman - T-Bone Walker
19. Your Funeral And My Trial - Sonny Boy Williamson
20. Graveyard Blues - John Lee Hooker
66 comments| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
This CD is great value for money. I say this because of the sheer diversity of the artists on the CD (some I had not heard of, some I was already familiar with such as John Lee Hooker and Screamin' Jay Hawkins) All killer no filler as well as track after track delivered with no duds.

The cover art is striking and the sound quality good. This sits happily in my collection. 5 stars.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
Just bought this having heard it in a local record store, it immediately took me back to a holiday we spent in New Orleans a few years ago. If you've ever been to New Orleans and walked down Bourbon Steet, you'll recognise these sounds as those that come from the seemingly endless string of pubs and clubs.
The whole compilation is related to Voodoo as you may have guessed and there is a selection of different styles from the obvious Robert Johnson who was possessed by the devil (allegedly)to Big Band type sounds from Louis Jordan. My personal favourites are the three contributions from Champion Jack Dupree who I wasn't familiar with prior to this as well as the two tracks from Robert Johnson and Howlin' Wolf.
For a flavour of the Deep South and at this price you can't go wrong with this, buy it.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2016
CD 1, which has a running time of 58 mins 25 secs, gets off to a great start with the iconically over-the-top Screamin' Jay Hawkins "I Put A Spell On You." Blues legends such as Howlin' Wolf with "Evil (Is Going On)", Sonny Boy Williams with "I Been Dealing With The Devil", John Lee Hooker with "Burnin' Hell", and my favourite female blues singer, Bessie Smith, with "Sinful Blues" are the highlights on this opening collection, though every track is a quality listen.

CD 2, with a playing time of 59 mins and 54 secs, has more of the same with quality tunes by the likes of Robert Johnson with "Preaching Blues (Up Jumped The Devil)", Champion Jack Dupree with "Nasty Boogie", Curly Weaver with "Two Faced Woman", Ma Rainey with "Louisiana Hoo Doo Blues", T-Bone Walker with "Street Walkin' Woman" and I'd like to give another mention to Bessie Smith with "Blue Spirit Blues." In fact, I am surprised that this 40 track collection doesn't feature Bessie's "The Devil Is Gonna Get You", a superb haunting track that I have on "Sweet Mistreater", a 2 cd collection from the Blue Orchid label that features many of 'The Empress of the Blues' best recordings.

"Voodoo Blues" therefore is yet another excellent package from the good people of Not Now Music, and as with all of their previous releases that I have in my collection the sound quality is exceptional. An informative 2 page liner note from Michael Heatley, and a list of songwriters and recording dates are included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A strange simmering broth composed of moonbeams, live frogs, jitterbugging entrails, the silken threads of starry eyed spiders and the brittle bark of rubbed up trees, all caked in Mississippi mud, dried and thoroughly baked. This album captures the eerie essence of the early 20th Century, when music allowed people to stand stiff and tall, then move those rubber limbs like cats in a fire. These are the tunes that liberated the masses from Wesleyan hymns and an eternal salvation in the world to come. Gaze into this stew and out will jump Elvis, New York Dolls, Bob Dylan, Rolling Stones and Nick Cave, croaking, shrieking and cavorting. These are just some marking points, to create those places of safety for those who cannot immerse themselves fully back in this era. These, ladies and gentlemen are the real deal, the Karma Sutra players of the night time dream worlds.

All various paens to the beaten hooved, horned, shaggy deville highlighting the various forms of salvation being offered in this real world. These can be obtained through swopping body fluid inter connection. Laid back body strollers, jittering bed warmers and after the bacchanal cigarette lighters, these burnt ju ju offerings profer the real dark husks to the carnal tail swisher.

Blues was the medium of connection, before it was colonised by white beardies in their earnest desire to trample upon the sacred, and offer only their eternal pastiche. These are the high notes culled from Screaming Jay, Johnny Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Skip James, Robet Johnson, Bessie Smith, Arhtur Crudup, Lighting Hopkins, Howlin Wolf, T Bone Walker, Louis Jordan, Champion Jack Dupree, Bessie Smith and a host of luminaries. All singing their spiritual odes to the horned head of the wide eyed goat, the pied piper of lust. These are his tunes composed in a time when the world was locked into marching across plains, hills and seas to bring about various forms of tedium. Meanwhile in tin shacks and wooded lean to's this primal soup was being gently warmed and broiled.

So if you want to wile away a few hours in some languid other world, this broth, served piping hot will oil your groin and deliver you there.

For the rest there is always the feeling of getting down on your well worn knees to be once again, preyed upon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
If you are into the blues then this is the album for you. It is a mix of raw blues which sounds even better if you have nothing else to occupy you when you are playing this disc. It has really increased my long-time wish to visit New Orleans - say no more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
I've listened to this right through a few times now. I think that the standard of material varies from "sort of okay" to "really good". I don't think it contains enough "really good" to warrant 4 stars but at the price it's decent value for money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
this double cd was compiled from blues, r&b, r'n'r and garage songs - only criteria was that it should mention dark side (voodoo, devil etc...); musically it is inconsistent, same songs/authors exist in much 'cleaner' versions of production. avoid.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
I generally judge an album by the amount of songs on it that I like and this one has come out on top. only one song grates with me whilst all the rest are great. really get the feel of listening to the original recordings, very atmospheric
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
hey! this sound is so cool.if you dig blues, r'n'b, rock/blues, well this is for you and your collection. your friends will be impressed. get it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.50

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)