Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.82


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2014
Just love the Voidhawk Series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
Great characters, great story, fabulous just fabulous, a must read for sci fi fans, this series just gets better and better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
I enjoyed the first book so much I bought this one and although i have enjoyed reading it, the story lost its way towards the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
After reading Voidhawk I was interested enough to get a couple of the follow-ons.

Again, the characters are good. Unfortunately there is even more of a need for the story to be proof read, with more incorrect words than in Voidhawk.

Another 'complaint' I had was later in the book the author seemed to change writing styles - and some sections were introduced which, on the surface, were plainly wrong. These were generally explained further on in the story.
However this technique hadn't been used before, and then to be suddenly use multiple times in the latter part of the novel I found a bit irritating.

There was also a slight strangeness with the attitude of the characters at losing crew members. In Voidhawk, Kragon was lost, with no real explanation about the appearance of the creature which killed him. They lose another member and seemed to dismiss it with little concern.

Also a couple of the tasks they are presented with seem to have little logic related to why they are required in order to solve a problem.

These appear to be writing technique tools which have not been well integrated into the main story.

I enjoyed most of the book, but again my 'reading experience' was interrupted by these inconsistencies.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2012
An enjoyable romp through the void with all right ingredients. There are some incorrigible heroes and some persistent villains, all good fun. Worth a read for light relief and relaxation after a hard day at the front line! Thanks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
This carries on from the first book flawlessly. The characters develop through an enjoyable fantasy story which explores the morals and feelings of the participating characters. Strengths and weakness are exposed and together with a fine story line I was entertained. There is humour as well. Only in fantasy can a sexual encounter be forcefully exposed some 12000 years in the future !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
I have to admit that I was surprised that this second outing is as good as it is. Sometimes authors seem to miss a step writing a sequel although this is more often a problem in the world of film. It may seem unbelievable that a ship with sails and rigging can travel between the stars but this is generally just a way of moving the characters and action from one setting to another. It is plausible and does not intrude despite stretching things scientifically.
The Elder Race is an exciting adventure in which the crew of the Voidhawk find themselves up against the Elves while on a mission for the Elder Elves who, apparently, created most sentient beings in the Void. It is a fast paced story with twists and turns, which Jason is very good at, and a few surprises including deaths. I do wish he would avoid lesbian relationships. Men can be close friends without being gay so why can't women?
It is highly recommended except that towards the end Kragor reappears in a very mysterious way, then suddenly he is the force which animates a suit of armour. Reminded me a bit of the Black Guard from Barbarella, but more friendly. Other than that and a few typos this novel encouraged me to read the next in the series which I will review eventually.
Bill "Sock Puppet" Fox
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I have read all the Voidhawk books and will never forget the characters! This is a series of books for the mental-adventurer who is looking to explore other worlds, other races and their traditions and customs (both good and bad) inside the comfort of their own home, curled up on the sofa. Beware, though - you will get so wrapped up in the sparkling, racing narrative that any cup of tea you make will go cold before you remember you made it! Many more books please!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
A RIPPING good yarn.A bit of a French farce at times ,but it always comes together.The crew are a collection of grateful misfits and the oppressed,resulting in them being fiercely loyal to DEXTER our derring do captain.The end is a bit of a cliff hanger and the epilogue is full of surprises.Once again JASON HALSTEAD has come up with the goods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
This is one of the best book's that I have read for this type of book in a long time. It is one of the best books with elves in it that I have read in a long time. I would recommend this book to anyone & hope that they enjoy it as much as me. I will be getting the rest of the book's in this series & hope that they are as good as this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.08

Need customer service? Click here