Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 5 November 2014
Worthwhile read printed just in time before it was forgotten. Aerodynamics in it's infancy with pilots having to learn or be killed. Observer/camera men sharing the dangers and ground crews doing all anyone could for 'their' aircraft and crew. A great time to be real men, young, daring and quick witted. A few hours training, climb into an aircraft that at best could be described as experimental and prod the enemy. Rapid advances in design, manufacture and knowledge as only a war can produce wins the day. A lot I didn't know after almost a lifetime of aircraft interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2015
I enjoyed reading these brief interviews with a wide range of blokes who took part in some way in the aerial warfare in 14-18. It can become a little dry at times - novices might struggle a little with one or two of the references. But it's a welcome addition to my knowledge of the war. I just wish now that I had taken advantage of talking a lot more to some of the old fellers who were still living when I was in my teens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2014
Provides a real insight into the flying and ground trades (and more) of RFC and RNAS operations, with very personal experiences. Anyone interested in aviation history and the First World War in particular will find this a worthwhile read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2016
So different from the events on the ground, the war in the air was a war of technology and grit. Every man who ventured his life in these mad machines was a hero.
But these reminiscences show how humble and self-depreciating the British airmen of the Great War really were. Conscious of their privileged and yet precarious existence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2015
A very good compilation of reminiscences of those involved in the early years of the RFC and then the RAF.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2014
The average life span was about 8 days and there wasn't many who survived the war but they kept on going up . Brave Men Indeed !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2014
This book brings the stories of many airmen whose experiences would have othrrwise been lost. Not the famous few but men who have been missed by other accounts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2014
I have as yet not completed this book (so much going on at the present) but I have enjoyed it so far such brave young man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2014
Excellent, the authors have really have obtained first hand accounts, which allowing for the veterans natural modesty'really
brings to life WWI War in the Air..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2014
This book has increased my knowledge and understanding about the early flying pioneers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)