4 used from £10.87

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vivaldi- Four Seasons

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 26 Sep 1994
"Please retry"
Available from these sellers.
4 used from £10.87

Amazon's Giovanni Antonini Store

Product details

  • Performer: Giovanni Antonini, Giardino Armonico Ensemble
  • Orchestra: Antonio Vivaldi
  • Audio CD (26 Sept. 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Teldec
  • ASIN: B000024FWF
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 443,594 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Allegro
  2. Largo
  3. Allegro
  4. Allegro Non Molto - Allegro
  5. Adagio - Presto
  6. Presto
  7. Allegro - Allegro Assai
  8. Adagio Molto
  9. Allegro
  10. Allegro Non Molto
  11. Largo
  12. Allegro
  13. Allegro
  14. Largo
  15. Allegro
  16. Allegro
  17. Largo
  18. Allegro

Product description


When it comes to Vivaldi's Four Seasons, pity the poor purchaser: how on earth do you choose from such a plethora of versions? Does the cheapest tempt, or would a version with a star violinist be a safer bet? Or could you be swayed by a scantily clad young female pouting at you from the cover? Or how about a bit of novelty value--an arrangement featuring flute or oboe soloist, or for guitar quartet or even brass ensemble? Or how about this one--a gimmick-free, period-instrument performance from the first-rate Enrico Onofri with a distinguished Italian band which cuts straight through the accumulated grime of ages and makes the pieces as vividly theatrical as they must have been when they were composed in 1725. This isn't a reading to lull you with straightforward beauty but one that buzzes with life, whether it's the riveting drama of the finale of "Summer" or the ghostly middle movement of "Autumn". Vibrato is used sparingly, always for a particular expressive effect, and sudden changes of emotion (particularly in the first movement of "Summer") are brilliantly handled. The two extra concertos are a welcome bonus, the beautiful one for oboe expertly played here by Paolo Grazzi. As far as Four Seasons go, this version comes very near the top of the pile. --Harriet Smith

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I wholeheartedly agree with previous reviewer - fantastic. Heard just a few bars of this on CD review, and thought what on earth is this? It's was the Seasons certainly, but sparse, austere, and thrilling - as orchestrated by Shostakovitch if such a thing can be imagined. No virtuosity, just pure music and thrilling musicianship. It sounded plausibly authentic to my non-expert ears, but authentic or not, an extraordiany performance unarguably. Ordered it the same day - and the whole piece fully lived up to the promise of those few bars on the radio, and a year or so on it's still thrilling. The Seasons has always sounded "modern" to me, whoever's playing, and this version brings out this aspect even more than usual. I must add that this isn't at all a "novelty" version that one tires of and I'm happy to keep it as my only version, at least on CD. Highly recommended !
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
maybe the best performance ever been made. I lost my copy of that cd bought in 1998, so I re-ordered it and yet, after almost 15 years, it remains my favorite performance of The Seasons
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category