Virtue in Danger has been added to your Basket

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: Amazon
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Virtue in Danger Soundtrack

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £14.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Sold by Side Two and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
7 new from £10.99 1 used from £99.99
£14.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock - order soon. Sold by Side Two and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (18 Dec. 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Soundtrack
  • Label: Import
  • ASIN: B000BOWT2M
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 125,890 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Introduction: Don’t call me sir
  2. Fortune, thou art a bitch
  3. I’m in love with my husband
  4. Hurry, surgeon!
  5. Conscience, thou art a bore!
  6. Let’s fall together
  7. Nurse, nurse, nurse
  8. Say the word
  9. Fire a salute
  10. Put him in the dog house
  11. Hoyden hath charms
  12. Berinthia’s recit
  13. Wait a little longer, lover
  14. Why do I feel what I feel?
  15. Stand back, old Sodom!
  16. O take this ancient mansion
  17. Finale
  18. Epilogue

Product Description

One of the very best of the great Patricia Routledge’s starring roles in British musicals was in this Restoration romp, first seen in London in 1963, with a superb cast that included John Moffatt, Alan Howard and Barrie Ingham. The score by James Bernard (music) and Paul Dehn (words) is by turn bawdy and sentimental, but always adept in catching the spirit of John Vanbrugh’s original play, The Relapse. Period orchestration helps to solidify the authentic sound in this lovely Decca original cast recording. The sleeve notes confirm that ‘all here is caviar to the general’; the impeccable taste that imbues music and lyrics never stops this from being a highly enjoyable experience, with Routledge at her ‘glimmering’ (as a New York critic described her on this new disc) best in her numbers.

With: Patricia Routledge, John Moffatt, Barrie Ingham, Gwen Nelson, Jane Wenham

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
Anything from the superb Patrica Routledge merits five stars. 'Let's fall together' is a particular gem and 'Wait a little longer, lover' is also memorable in this recording from 1963 of the musical adaptation of Vanbrugh's seventeenth century farce.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions