<Embed>
Buy Used
£3.06
+ £0.00 delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by Greener_Books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Violent Century: The epic alternative history novel from World Fantasy Award-winning author of OSAMA - perfect for fans of Stan Lee Hardcover – 24 Oct 2013

4.2 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£50.59 £3.06
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton


Product details

  • Hardcover: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (24 Oct. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444762877
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444762877
  • Product Dimensions: 15.6 x 3.2 x 24 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,209,598 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

An emerging master." (Locus)

Young, ambitious, skilled and original. (Christopher Priest, author of The Prestige.)

He is a political writer, an iconoclast and sometimes a provocateur ... Osama is a remarkable and ambitious work. (China Mieville on Osama.)

Where do heroes come from? How are friendships made? What makes us human? These are the questions that Lavie Tidhar grapples with, in this story of friendship writ large upon a canvas that stretches from the 1930s to the present day, in a slightly alternate world where superheroes exists, but heroics mean different things to different people. Choices made in the second world war resonate down through a series of brilliantly detailed cold war scenes, ultimately wrestling with the idea of the self. This is a big, ambitious book that manages to deliver. (Glen Mehn http://glen.mehn.net/2013/08/100-word-review-the-violent-century-by-lavie-tidhar/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=100-word-review-the-violent-century-by-lavie-tidhar)

vintage Lavie, and also I think his most fully accomplished novel yet. Nobody rides that fast-rolling wave separating schlocky pulp and serious literary sensibilities so deftly as Tidhar. He manages to make serious points about the benighted twentieth-century and its obsession with 'supermen' without ever letting the narrative slacken or the adventure pale. If Nietzche had written an X-Men storyline whilst high on mescaline, it might have read something like VIOLENT CENTURY. (Adam Roberts, author of Jack Glass blurb)

An alternative history tour-de-force. Epic, intense and authentic. Lavie Tidhar reboots the 20th century with spies and superheroes battling for mastery - and the results are electric. (Tom Harper, author of THE ORPHEUS DESCENT blurb)

Dig it, kats and kittens: THE VIOLENT CENTURY is a brilliantly etched phantasmagoric reconfiguring of that most sizzling of eras - the twilight 20th. Lavie Tidhar lays it out like a dystopian dog!!! This book has it ALL: time travel, political intrigue, hellacious history itself!!! You've got superheroes in the guise of regular humans, you've got World War II!!! Viva Lavie Tidhar - "The Violent Century" is a torrid tour de force!!!!! (James Ellroy)

Tidhar has written a fantastic novel... I can't wait to read Osama and anything else of his that I can get my hands on... Definitely recommended. (Civilian Reader)

A love story and meditation on heroism, this is an elegiac espionage adventure that demands a second reading. (Metro)

Provides an insight into what it takes to be human, and what can happen when we lay that humanity aside. It's a powerful novel, which will no doubt reward rereading. (Sci-Fi bulletin)

Book Description

They'd never meant to be heroes.

See all Product description

24 customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Read reviews that mention

8 April 2019
Verified Purchase
9 April 2015
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
19 March 2019
Verified Purchase
15 February 2015
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
25 May 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWER
20 November 2013
Verified Purchase
21 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
11 May 2014
Verified Purchase