FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Vikings! Saxon Holocaust has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Vikings! Saxon Holocaust Paperback – 19 Oct 2011

4.8 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Paperback, 19 Oct 2011
"Please retry"
£8.99
£7.46 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Four for £10 on Sticker & Activity Books
Add four selected titles to your basket and checkout to receive your discount. Shop now
£8.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



On 13 September see an exclusive performance of Matilda The Musical to celebrate Roald Dahl's 100th anniversary with Amazon Tickets
Experience an introduction from the Resident Director, a Q&A session with the cast, and a special memento -- buy tickets

Product details

  • Paperback: 260 pages
  • Publisher: Mirador Publishing (19 Oct. 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1908200502
  • ISBN-13: 978-1908200501
  • Product Dimensions: 12.7 x 1.5 x 20.3 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 2,463,488 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
I didn't expect this author to keep up the high standard of excitement that he got from Viking Sword Saxon Shield !(Viking Sword Saxon Shield) but he has done so brilliantly. Vikings Saxon Holocaust after a chapters sojourn into the historical battles in Kent continues the adventures of Eddie and Princess Catherine, Kate from where the first book left off. This is one of the best historical thrillers I have read. The pace of the first novel in the series was relentless; this second book is even more potent. I was already conversant with the main hero's and villains but Scrivener is able to introduce new characters all the way through the novel that gel seamlessly with the originals. I thought Viking Sword Saxon Shield was a must read and this follow up is even better. Then what an unusual ending, fabulous
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
This is a continuation of the story started in Viking Sword, Saxon Shield and follows along with the same gusto and historical aspects. It is very well researched and the details helps to bring the book to life. The story continues the journeys begun in the first book, returning us to General Ealdoman Byrhtnoth, Princess Catherine and Eddie. His quest, involving magic and myth is wonderful and the dastardly Vikings are all too real and horrific.
I notice that is book is being sold under the young adult category, and I feel that is fair. However, I believe adults will enjoy this just as they enjoy other young adult authors. It does not offend and it educates, it is gently romantic and vivid. The author's obvious passion makes it a joy to read.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Tales of derring-do are no novelty. They range from Homer's Odyssey through Beowulf to J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter. This book is in the tradition of Treasure Island and Biggles in that the hero is young, brave, resilient and resourceful. Nevertheless he has to earn his place in society being, as he is, a Romany. He is spiritually strong and in times of great stress and danger is visited by mysterious beings who reinforce his will to live and love to the best of his ability.
The book has the added dimension of being set historically in the bleak flatlands of the Dengie Hundred on the south-east Essex coast in the early tenth century. This is the time of the Viking incursions and the famous battle of Maldon fought under the leadership of Aeldorman Byrthnoth who is still regarded in the area as a wise, fair ruler and an heroic figure. There is a statue to him gazing out to the North Sea, sword in hand, in present day Maldon.
Our hero, Edward, has to fight enemies on two fronts. On the one hand there are the Vikings. On the other there is a gang of bullies, morally bankrupt sons of rich, powerful fathers who are determined to bring him down. He cares for the princess Catherine, Kate, the beautiful and intelligent heroine, and becomes her bodyguard but she seems far above him and beyond his reach.
There is a filmic quality about the book. There are vivid verbsl pictures of guillimots fishing, seals basking, wolves howling and horses cantering through the edges of the sea. Descriptions of medical care, living conditions, weather and clothes create a visually convincing background to the story which moves along at a rip-roaring pace. The social structure of the time is well--researched.
This is a vibrant, rollicking adventure story that will inform, educate and entertain in the best traditions of the genre and is an excellent sequel to "Viking Sword, Saxon Sheild" by the same author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
The eagerly awaited sequel to 'Viking Sword Saxon Shield' does not disappoint. If anything, the action is bloodier and more gruesome but the author perfectly redresses the balance with tender love scenes, sensitively handling the moment when Kate's and Eddie's child is born after a gruelling breech birth. The mystic/psychic thread continues to weave in and out of the story and this strange power is finally explained... or is it? Keith Scrivener knows his subject and possesses the necessary skills to combine historical fact with his own imagination in this thrilling, gripping novel. If you missed the first book you will certainly want to catch up with all the action and buy a copy of that,too.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Vikings! Saxon Holocaust follows the story laid out in Viking Sword, Saxon Shield. It continues very much in the same vein, so you can expect an interesting and exciting read. The research has clearly been exhaustive and combined with the delightful heroes and villains this story will mean something to adults and children. A wonderful way to introduce the young to Early Medieval Europe, with a touch of magic and mayhem thrown in for good measure.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Feedback