Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
Victorialand
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£35.87+ £4.63 shipping


on 31 May 2010
This is a wonderful little album that showcases the sound of a truly unique band indulging their weird side for all that it's worth. The soundscapes are much sparser than on previous (and later) outings with little or no percussion on most of the tracks, but that just adds to the effect. The guitars sparkle, swoon and swirl with magic and Liz Frazer's achingly lovely vocals float on top of them like rays of light from a new-born star. Galaxies glow, undulate, fade to black and explode into life again. This is trippy stuff even by the standards of this trippiest of bands, and it sounds like nothing else in the world. Describing how the Cocteaus sound is like trying to explain the taste of ice cream to someone who's never eaten it; it's nigh-on impossible, and all the usual words like 'heavenly' and 'ethereal' that get thrown around so often with reference to them just don't do the sound justice. If you've never heard the band before then this probably isn't the best place to start (try 'Four Calendar Cafe' for something slightly more 'conventional' or 'Treasure' if you want to get a feel for the early stuff) but if you've already got those albums then you really should think about buying this one as well. Blissful stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
The Cocteau Twins rarely let u down .. A beautiful and peaceful album .. Take me away for a while as the twins always do .. Also my bargain of 2017 so far £2.50 ish .. Thank u .. 😘
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2016
Its hard to beat the high end parmaviolet blow humes of Fraser running aboot upside doon with chronic gust, wobbling daintey. Once in you never leave.. A band for life is a magic thing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2017
Pleasant enough, but not my favourite.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2016
Very Good !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2015
as always fantastic stuff - don't try listening on a crap stereo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2016
still love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2015
The best Cocteau Twins album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
truly awesome! who needs a chill pill when you listen to this?Cocteau twins at their best!! excellent value<well worth a listen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2013
I have to admit my embarrassment... Having just acquired this on vinyl, and not having heard it before, although being a big Cocteau fan - and owning the rest on vinyl already... I have just listened to side one thinking "my, Liz's voice is a bit deep on this track, and this, and this one too......" Stupidly I did not notice the little 45 on the label. Yes it is a 45rpm album. And I listened to the whole side on 33 rpm.
What I can say is, it sounds a million times better on 45! Very good album, up there with my personal favourite of Treasure - you can't go wrong here, if you already have a soft spot for the twins output. Well recommended.... On the right speed of course.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Treasure
£5.99
Garlands
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here