Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2014
I purchased this item to take with me on long fishing trips in order to have a method of charging my phone. For that purpose it works fine and will charge my phone from flat twice before the device needs recharging.
The solar panel is however next to useless and takes approximately 1 week of strong direct sunlight to fully recharge the battery and only really works as a top up.
The instructions are very poorly translated although any idiot could work it really do they aren't necessary.
Over all not a bad piece of kit if you just want a battery pack to recharge your devices from when out and about but forget about the solar panel as a way of charging it.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Left in car each day at silverstone to charge then topped up phone charge at night. Worked we'll over 4 days. Good price and quick delivery. Only problem was that instructions not clear.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Very useful for long journeys with no plug socket to charge your device(s), a full charge on this will comfortably fully charge an iPhone 5S twice. It's also useful if you use your phone as an alarm but are on holiday somewhere with no plug socket near the bed; charge this during the day then use it to charge your phone overnight,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
First impressions are not good . The instructions, surely an important part of any electrical are written in a minute type, 2mm 1/16inch high, and in very poor English -Charge should be in the position of the ventilation is too high or too low temperature. The degree will affect battery performance. Or how about-Please keep this product and related accessories to avoid home Easy reach of children. or Charging the mobile power hosts a slinht fever. which is a normal phenomenon, Sounds nasty. NOWHERE DOES IT SAY THAT IT IS CHARGED BY SUN LIGHT, OR HOW TO POSITION IT FOR BEST RESULTS.
UPDATE I have now taken it away to keep my I Phone charged in the campa van. I find that using the USB slot in the radio works well and give 2 charges for the phone per charge. Solar power did little to charge it throughout the day. SoIt is fine if you have the 12 volt or mains available.
David T
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
First impressions a bit flimsy doesny feel as expensive as i felt it should. Instructions covered by lithium battery warning on postage. However it does the job well. Its simple to use so instructions were not necessary. I bought for it for a friend who is a regular festival goer and sun worshiper. I have no doubt it will go down a treat. Seeing alot of negativity about the product but who expects a nasa solar power charger for 13 quid. I recommend this item. pnly 4 starts because packaging of the item could have been better. It charges your phone when in need of back up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Not sure about this charger. I ended up using it as a spare battery for my phone, did not really test the solar quality. Nice size and sockets good, but ended up falling apart so ended up binning it after about 4 months. Still waiting to find better device
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
I have bought 3 of these from different sources and with different specs and this appears to be the most honest and as described solar power bank of this style. I bought mine through the Amazon seller VICTECH (lots of fakes out there so beware!!!)

Based on 4 days use......
On first full charge I got about 4 phone charges out of it, which based on my mobile battery capacity is around about right for a 10,000 mAh power bank. Although the instructions are rubbish, I think its pretty easy to work out how to use it and what the LED reading means. It came well retail packaged and feels quiet solid without being too heavy.

Just to backup what other reviews have said.... The Solar Panel output on this is very low - you are not going to charge the power bank or phone quickly through the power of the sun - I think its more of a gimmick at worst or at best its a tickle charger for the power bank if left in daylight. To be fair, unless you are carrying a solar panel charger as big as a netbook, you wont be charging any device fast, so its not a deficiency in the product.

One final point - don't be tempted to go for similar items claiming to be 20,000 of 30,000mAh - they just don't work as specified and if they did, they would be twice the size as this and heavy. Don't be fooled!!!

All in all - does what it says on the tin - and the best one I have purchased yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
The details say the solar panel is 1.5w. This will be in the brightest sun imaginable directly overhead with the unit facing directly at it. The unit also says it is 23Wh (and I'm sure the images were saying 37Wh a few moments ago*). At 5v, 23Wh equates to 4600mAh not 10000mAh. At 1.5w (1.5w/5V = 300mA) input this unit would take at least 15 hours (4600mAh / 300mA = 15.3333) to charge in perfect conditions with no charging losses, or in the real world at least 5-6 very very sunny days in the Sahara.

However 4600mAh at 5v is indeed nearly three times the capacity of a typical mobile phone battery which are about 1500 - 2200mAh at 3.7v, so 2 charges of your phone from this device seems reasonable allowing for 25% charging losses. But that said, it's certainly not correctly listed at 10000mAh

So the moral of this story is when buying a phone charger at a festival, or at all, which is almost certainly not already charged out of the box, it's wise to have also listened during your GCSE physics classes so you can 1) know easily from reading the device specs and some basic maths when what you are buying is not really the thing you are told it is. 2) Understand how long it's really going to take to charge from the very small, very low power solar panel on it and if moaning that it hasn't charged in a day is reasonable or not.

Failing that, plan B is just smoke pot and drink beer at the festival and have a rest from the Internet for a few days. It's all rather a trivial first world problem after all.

* Some of the item images say 37Wh (eg: blue), some say 23Wh (eg: black, red, rose). They can't both be right.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
I use it every day, it lives on my windowsill, about every 2 weeks I get a charge on my phone off it, its brilliant for free power,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Unfortunately, having left the charger out in direct sun all day, it was only about half-charged when I tried it. However, when charged from ' the mains' it does recharge my phone twice before needing recharging itself.
So don't waste your money. Buy a charger that doesn't claim to be 'solar'.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)