Vaughan Williams: Hickox ... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this item. Your item will be previously owned but still in great condition. The disc will play perfectly without interruption and the case, inlay notes and sleeve may show limited signs of wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Vaughan Williams: Hickox Conducts, Lark Ascending, Five Mystical Songs, Oboe Concerto CD

4.8 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews

Price: £14.66 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 5 Jun 2000
£9.70 £4.75
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Product details

  • Performer: Bradley Creswick, Stephen Roberts, Roger Winfield
  • Orchestra: Northern Sinfonia, Northern Sinfonia Chorus
  • Conductor: Richard Hickox
  • Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • Audio CD (5 Jun. 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: CD
  • Label: EMI British Composers
  • ASIN: B00004TQQ6
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 11 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 44,063 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Serenade to Music (orchestral version)
  2. The Poisoned Kiss - Overture
  3. (Allegro moderato)
  4. Pipe Dance
  5. Bowl Dance
  6. Morris Jig: 'Go and 'list for a sailor'
  7. Folk Song: 'A Bold Young Farmer'
  8. Folk Tune: 'The Jolly Thresherman'
  9. Solo Jig
  10. Easter
  11. I got me flowers
  12. Love bade me welcome
  13. The Call [baritone only]
  14. Antiphon [chorus only]
  15. Prelude on an Old Carol Tune
  16. The Running Set
  17. Prelude: 49th Parallel
  18. Sea Songs - March (sym. orch.)

Disc: 2

  1. The Lark Ascending
  2. 1. Eventide (melody by W. H. Monk)
  3. 2. Dominus regit me (melody by J. B. Dykes)
  4. I. Rondo pastorale (Allegro moderato)
  5. II. Minuet and Musette (Allegro moderato)
  6. III. Finale: Scherzo (Presto - Lento - Presto)
  7. Fantasia on 'Greensleeves'
  8. 2. Rhosymedre (melody by J. D. Edwards, 1805-1885)
  9. 3. Hyfrydol (melody by R. H. Prichard, 1811-1887)
  10. I. Allegro pesante
  11. II. Adagio
  12. III. Presto
  13. Adagio -
  14. I. crotchet = crotchet -
  15. II. Allegro moderato -
  16. III. crotchet = 150 -
  17. IV. L'istesso tempo -
  18. V. Adagio

Product description

Product description


This slimline British Composers double-pack from EMI offers stunning value for money, cramming the contents of nearly three Vaughan Williams anthologies from the mid-1980s onto two extremely well-filled CDs--and all at mid-price, too. Performances and production values are consistently first-rate, and the pleasures come thick and fast. Under Richard Hickox's sympathetic and invigorating lead, the 1923 ballet score Old King Cole (still a considerable rarity) creates a delightful impression. There's an engaging contribution from the Sinfonia Chorus both here and in the lovely Five Mystical Songs (which finds baritone Stephen Roberts in rapt, if not perhaps always ideally steady voice). Elsewhere, the Northern Sinfonia's then leader, Bradley Creswick, excels in the bracing Concerto accademico (a title the composer later rejected in favour of the plainer Concerto for violin and strings in D minor) and ravishing The Lark Ascending, while the oboe concerto receives eminently stylish advocacy from soloist Roger Winfield. Not the least of this generous sets many attractions can be found in some of the shorter items such as the perky overture to the 1929 opera The Poisoned Kiss,, the gravely noble prelude to 49th Parallel (VW's first film score dating from 1940-41) and the jaunty Sea Songs. So, if the programme appeals (and it certainly should!), don't hesitate. --Andrew Achenbach END

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 11 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

16 October 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
19 October 2000
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
13 October 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
14 January 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
19 June 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
25 February 2003
Format: Audio CD
17 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
4 May 2008
Format: Audio CD
24 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
23 September 2010
Format: Audio CD

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: ralph vaughan williams, british composers

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?