Various Works For Piano (... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by redbookscom
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Slight rubbing to outer case but no cracking, both CD discs and the music notes booklet in excellent condition with hardly any wear.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Various Works For Piano (Wilde)

Price: £12.00 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by shining heart books and music and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
9 new from £11.99 4 used from £4.97
£12.00 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock. Sold by shining heart books and music and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ballade No.2 In B Minor - Earl Wild
  2. Tarantelle Di Bravura - Earl Wild
  3. Sonetto Del Petrarca No.104 - Earl Wild
  4. Sonetto Del Petrarca No.123 - Earl Wild
  5. Valse Oubliee No.1 - Earl Wild
  6. La Campanella - Earl Wild
  7. Feux Follets - Earl Wild
  8. Ricordanza - Earl Wild
  9. Paysage - David Wilde
  10. La Chasse - David Wilde
  11. Waldesrauschen - David Wilde
  12. Gnomenreigen - David Wilde

Disc: 2

  1. Rhapsodie Espagnole - David Wilde
  2. Isoldes Liebestod - David Wilde
  3. Reminiscences De Norma - David Wilde
  4. Hexameron - Sylvia Kersenbaum
  5. Valse Infernale - Sylvia Kersenbaum
  6. Polonaise - Sylvia Kersenbaum

Product Description


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9320a420) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x92e158c8) out of 5 stars Add Wilde to Wild 11 Aug. 2007
By Romanticist - Published on
Verified Purchase
This is considerably more than simply a reissue of recordings by the magnificent Earl Wild. Most Lisztians will already know at least the stellar reputation of David Wilde, winner of the 1961 Liszt-Bartok International Competition and ever since acclaimed as one of the truly great--however less-known--exponents of Liszt's music. (He is still active, now enjoying an award-winning Indian summer on the audiophile Delphian label). Two of his very best recordings of Liszt are here: the "Norma" paraphrase and the Spanish Rhapsody. Ever since their EMI release in 1969, these recordings have held near-legendary status. They simply must be heard to be believed, and the engineering by no less than Christopher Bishop (then the soon to be leader of EMI) allows the full range of Wilde's sound to be fully appreciated, from Horowitz-like barnstorming (what a left hand!) to the most delicate right-hand filigree. David Wilde's EMI "Norma" has for decades been acclaimed as one of the greatest Liszt performances ever, and when you hear this you'll know why. Even so, one must not slight the wonders in his performance of the Spanish Rhapsody, a more accomplished work. It has a broader emotional range, and Wilde's playing is marked by an incredible fusion of great chordal riches with stupendous forward propulsion. Both of those recordings are summits of the "Golden Age of Romanticism" style, but make no mistake--in Wilde's hands these works emerge as great works rather than mere showpieces. The shorter pieces, particularly "Isolde's Liebestod" are perfect balances for this marvelous record. They show the lighter, gossamer-like qualities of a super-virtuoso (things many a virtuoso can't do), wonderful to hear next to such overwhelming weight. Having Earl Wild and David Wilde on one set is too good to be true, especially at bargain price. With respect to the other pianist on this compilation, Sylvia Kersenbaum, given her recordings here I'm sorry that I don't know anything else of her playing. Although she doesn't scale the heights or plumb the depths that her disc-mates here do, her performances certainly hold to a high standard, and it is a credit to her that no one could say that she doesn't hold the place of a fine addition to round out a spell-binding set.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9318f870) out of 5 stars Excellent Reissue 20 Aug. 2005
By Terry C. Kildal - Published on
This is a reissue of Earl Wild that was only available before on cassette under the Quintessence label. His playing is impeccable. The 2nd Ballad is the best ever recorded. His amazing technical and musical gifts are on display, recording quality good. A must have for the Liszt collector.
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9743ac3c) out of 5 stars Five Stars 14 July 2015
By Linda Perron - Published on
Verified Purchase
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions