Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 August 2016
Good book, some amazing first hand accounts from the kessel.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2017
well wrote
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2014
Harrowing account by Russian and Germans involved in the battle. Well written and hard to put down. Is factual yet human story from those thrown into the cauldron.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2014
Always been interested in the battle for stalingrad, this was the first book I read and was realy pleased with the content.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2013
i ordered this book for my partner,because he likes world war books
he haven't read this book but i hope this is a good book.
good service, arrived very quickly thanks
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2013
This book gives a different view of the fight for stalingrad to anything I had read before. It is incredible how close the russians came to losing stalingrad.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2018
An easy read. Informative with good maps. Ive seen some of the pics before. My book was a bit grubby but good for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2009
Straight away you're there amongst mud and machinery, facing terrible odds. But this book does not reveal itself like a set piece drama. It is not about genre, nor is it about the narrator and his ambitions. The account is relayed via contemporary letters which are delicately constructed to reveal the complexity and insanity of situation after situation. It is so clearly written that the images of battle reverberate around the mind, as if they had been on the silver screen. The accounts related in Conquest of the Factories for instance, of defending buildings with bricks when the ammo ran out, are so gripping because they are so personal.

The lack of mannerism had another effect too, I read the book as if it were me who had found those letters. Right through the work I was compelled to ask myself, what if it were me, what would I do, how would I cope? The account felt first hand.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2010
If you've ever wondered what it must have been like to have fought at Stalingrad, read this book. It is superb. It covers both Russian and German veiws. An excellent read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2010
This is a good read- there's lots of action, interviews and a reasonable overview of the battle and its consequences.

Some of the interviews, on a second reading, appear that they may have been "polished" by the party before publication, but I suspect that many Russians (and other Soviet peoples) viewed the Great Patriotic War as just that. After the horrific consequences of the German attack on Byelorussia, Ukraine et cetera they can have surely not been unaware of their likely fate under German (or should we call it Nazi?) occupation. This is an example of when Soviet propaganda was, in my view, not only justified but necessary.

For war nerds, there are interviews with survivors (!)of the battle in the grain elevator, Pavlov's house and the Red October factory. There are also interviews with civilians who lived amongst the fighting. For this sort of frank talk about living amongst the stink, terror and filth of an extended urban campaign it's actually quite hard to beat this book.

The final page also contains a rather touching fact about the later life of Pavlov (of Pavlov's house).

Recommended. Did I mention there is lots of fighting?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)