Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £1.89

Save £5.10 (73%)

includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

VIII by [Castor, Harriet]
Kindle App Ad

VIII Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 67 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£1.89

Length: 400 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

60 Kindle Books for £1
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to £1 each. Learn more

Get a £1 reward for movies or TV

Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply.


Product description

Review

This biographical and psychological portrayal of one of England's most notorious rulers is a meaty read for Tudor history fans and general audiences alike. Prince Hal is repeatedly reminded, especially by his father, that nothing grand is expected of him, because he is the "spare" son. This spurs him into believing that he is destined for greatness, believing in a prophecy that he is fated to rule England. When his brother, Arthur, suddenly dies, Hal clashes even more with his father; when he informs his father that he believes in compassionate and visible signs of leadership, he is mocked by the monarch. Upon his succession, Hal's obsession with regaining France and having an abundance of sons causes him to negate marriage after marriage, either through execution or dissolution. Even though Henry VIII's actions are depressingly familiar, Castor presents each event with surprisingly freshness. The author artfully depicts the descent of Hal's childhood idealism and gentle character into the better-known cruel and despotic nature of Henry VIII. Too often, historical fiction is overwrought with florid description and exposition, but Castor consistently and evenly balances description, dialogue, and action. Necessary information about England's pre-Tudor past is easily incorporated into the narrative. Characters, even secondary ones, are fully realized. A faithful depiction of dialogue is sacrificed for more modern speech, but it is never distracting or awkwardly out of place. This is a satisfying and engrossing portrayal of an incredible personality. -- Jennifer Schultz * Fauquier County Public Library * 'an impressive psychological thriller' * Children's Buyers Guide * 'This is a new look at a much studied subject, and because it is written as a historical, psychological thriller it will bring Henry VIII to life for another generation' -- Clare Poole * The Bookseller * "In her original and convincing account of Henry as a child, HMC makes an excellent fist of presenting a sensitive and intelligent boy who, as the spare not the heir, tries in vain to win his father Henry VII's interest and approval. This novel of turbulent times bristles with atmosphere and tension. This well-plotted atmospheric novel with its original psychological perspective from HMC (shades of JKRowling) we can no doubt expect more historical novels as stunning and engrossing as this one". * Books for Keeps * 'A well paced story which certainly holds the reader and shows what a horrific and brutal place was the Tudor court' * Carousel * 'compelling and completely absorbing ... a gripping often spookily scary insight into Henry VIII for teenage readers' * TbK mag * 'this is historical fiction at its best but played out from a different angle ... with a contemporary and original writing style. It's also beautifully and lavishly produced in a hardback format' * Lovereading4kids * 'Accessible, enjoyable and full of fascinating details, VIII is a page turner that encourages readers to eschew pre-conceptions and to look at this Tudor icon in a fresh light' -- Linda Buckley-Archer * Teenage Fiction pick ,The Guardian * 'I wish VIII by H M Castor had been published years ago ...the book deals with the psychology of a neglected adolescent who suddenly finds himself venerated and apparently chosen by God' -- Merle Nygate * Guardian readers Books of the Year, The Guardian * 'try not to miss H M Castor's VIII - told as if from the lips of Britain's much married monarch, history comes alive from first page to last' -- Nicholas Tucker * The Independent * 'This is a great novel, both for Tudor fans who want to try something different, and for younger readers as it nicely introduces historical fact into this already exciting story. Definitely one to try!' * New Books * 'the gripping first-person narration paints a vivid picture of a young man haunted by strange visions, struggling to be loved, and convinced that his fate is to be a great ruler.' * The White Ravens * 'Unusual, enjoyable and totally fascinating, VIII, is an entertaining look at a great man's life as he might have seen it himself.' * South China Post * 'thought provoking, fast paced, gripping and fascinating.' * The SL * 'Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to people who like Tudor history and historical fiction readers. I think this book could be for Year 9s because they might understand more of the sub-plots.' -- Little M, We Sat Down Blog 'a brilliant portrayal of a historical figure which really brings out the man behind the king.' -- Jim * YA Yeah Yeah * just read it; it is awesome. It can easily be read in one sitting and will inspire a desire for more volumes. VIII is an ideal read-alike for The Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin. It is filled with fighting, scheming, and intrigue. Understanding family heritage and successions will be an enjoyable challenge for readers. Only follow-up searches for more British history will satisfy curious readers * VOYA *

Review

This biographical and psychological portrayal of one of England's most notorious rulers is a meaty read for Tudor history fans and general audiences alike. Prince Hal is repeatedly reminded, especially by his father, that nothing grand is expected of him, because he is the "spare" son. This spurs him into believing that he is destined for greatness, believing in a prophecy that he is fated to rule England. When his brother, Arthur, suddenly dies, Hal clashes even more with his father; when he informs his father that he believes in compassionate and visible signs of leadership, he is mocked by the monarch. Upon his succession, Hal's obsession with regaining France and having an abundance of sons causes him to negate marriage after marriage, either through execution or dissolution. Even though Henry VIII's actions are depressingly familiar, Castor presents each event with surprisingly freshness. The author artfully depicts the descent of Hal's childhood idealism and gentle character into the better-known cruel and despotic nature of Henry VIII. Too often, historical fiction is overwrought with florid description and exposition, but Castor consistently and evenly balances description, dialogue, and action. Necessary information about England's pre-Tudor past is easily incorporated into the narrative. Characters, even secondary ones, are fully realized. A faithful depiction of dialogue is sacrificed for more modern speech, but it is never distracting or awkwardly out of place. This is a satisfying and engrossing portrayal of an incredible personality. (Jennifer Schultz Fauquier County Public Library)

'an impressive psychological thriller' (Children’s Buyers Guide)

'This is a new look at a much studied subject, and because it is written as a historical, psychological thriller it will bring Henry VIII to life for another generation' (Clare Poole The Bookseller)

"In her original and convincing account of Henry as a child, HMC makes an excellent fist of presenting a sensitive and intelligent boy who, as the spare not the heir, tries in vain to win his father Henry VII's interest and approval. This novel of turbulent times bristles with atmosphere and tension. This well-plotted atmospheric novel with its original psychological perspective from HMC (shades of JKRowling) we can no doubt expect more historical novels as stunning and engrossing as this one". (Books for Keeps)

'A well paced story which certainly holds the reader and shows what a horrific and brutal place was the Tudor court' (Carousel)

'compelling and completely absorbing ... a gripping often spookily scary insight into Henry VIII for teenage readers' (TbK mag)

'this is historical fiction at its best but played out from a different angle ... with a contemporary and original writing style. It's also beautifully and lavishly produced in a hardback format' (Lovereading4kids)

'Accessible, enjoyable and full of fascinating details, VIII is a page turner that encourages readers to eschew pre-conceptions and to look at this Tudor icon in a fresh light' (Linda Buckley-Archer Teenage Fiction pick ,The Guardian)

'I wish VIII by H M Castor had been published years ago ...the book deals with the psychology of a neglected adolescent who suddenly finds himself venerated and apparently chosen by God' (Merle Nygate Guardian readers Books of the Year, The Guardian)

'try not to miss H M Castor's VIII - told as if from the lips of Britain's much married monarch, history comes alive from first page to last' (Nicholas Tucker The Independent)

'This is a great novel, both for Tudor fans who want to try something different, and for younger readers as it nicely introduces historical fact into this already exciting story. Definitely one to try!' (New Books)

'the gripping first-person narration paints a vivid picture of a young man haunted by strange visions, struggling to be loved, and convinced that his fate is to be a great ruler.' (The White Ravens)

'Unusual, enjoyable and totally fascinating, VIII, is an entertaining look at a great man's life as he might have seen it himself.' (South China Post)

'thought provoking, fast paced, gripping and fascinating.' (The SL)

'Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to people who like Tudor history and historical fiction readers. I think this book could be for Year 9s because they might understand more of the sub-plots.' (Little M, We Sat Down Blog)

'a brilliant portrayal of a historical figure which really brings out the man behind the king.' (Jim YA Yeah Yeah)

just read it; it is awesome. It can easily be read in one sitting and will inspire a desire for more volumes. VIII is an ideal read-alike for The Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin. It is filled with fighting, scheming, and intrigue. Understanding family heritage and successions will be an enjoyable challenge for readers. Only follow-up searches for more British history will satisfy curious readers (VOYA)

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 897 KB
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Templar Fiction (1 April 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B007WT2RLW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 67 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #214,304 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 7 October 2011
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 October 2011
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

click to open popover

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?