Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 February 2011
Having watched the original series in the 70s it was lovely to view again. The characters are wonderful and the whole thing is a excellent social comment on the master and servant situation of the era. Tragedy, comedy and the mundane all brought vividly to life. You really care about what happens to the characters and this is the hallmark of an excellent drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
LOVED THE ONES I HAVE READ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Very nice purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
I enjoyed all five series of up/down as I call it. Social History as it was. I think it should be shown in schools to teach history in a more human context and not just textbooks fact and figures. I feel I understand my Grandmother better knowing what it was like as she was growing up, from the suffregette movement to the war and rationing etc. Excellent series.
The extras were a bit hit and miss, they hadn't read the scripts for the voice overs had they? But interesting to see them as they are now.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
I rediscovered this wonderful series after the ill-advised attempts to breath new life into it last year

For get the latter. The original is one of television's all-time pinnacles and sits alongside I Claudius, The Sopranos and Brideshead Revisited.

In series 5 you have 16 1 hour plays picking up life in Britiain post World War 1. The ghost of war, the aimlessness of the bright young things, the sense of betrayal between the social classes, the seeping decline of the aristocracy and a gradual shift in social expectations are all thoughtfully explored through the eyes of a Tory politician's aristocratic family and their house servants. Mesmerising performances all round, crisp direction and stunning production raise this series to the very highest levels of TV drama.

The DVD set is excellent quality with interesting bonus features.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
How I miss this series; I remember it so well from my childhood. Every episode is a joy to watch.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
This is a truly great series. They don't make them like that anymore. I'll be very sorry when it's finished. However, it will be nice to watch it again at some future date. The acting on everyones part is superb. A finely drawn script and a great way to learn the history of the time. ( late 19th to early 20th century ).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
The series was seen in a number of countries and now some slightly older people are delighted to be able to see again such fine acting, language and historical anecdotes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2009
Sadly series five is the final instalment from 165 Eaton Place... after the horrors of the First World War Series Four, We hit the roaring 20's, obviously you lose the Edwardian spirit of the previous years! But series five covers other historical events!! Fantastic entertainment!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
If you like upstairs downstairs this DVD is for you. Packaged well and well presented
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse