Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11

on 3 February 2003
I started working with the Unix environment a couple of years ago, and bought this book on recommendation from a friend. It's a great reference for a wide range of unix areas, and provides a very useful starting point for awk and shell programming. It can definitely act as a beginners guide, but because it covers so many areas in detail, I will continue to reference it for many years. I recommend it for a beginner or intermediate unix user.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2004
This book is an invaluable reference even for experienced Unix users.
You may not need to use it as a tutorial, and you may be quite happy reading man pages (although the book is much better for commands like sed and grep). But this book still gives enough information that is not easily found elsewhere to make it one of the most useful on the bookshelf.
There are never enough copies around the office. I even bought myself a second copy because one of my colleagues kept taking mine away on business trips!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2003
Excellent book. On my desk (usually opened) when I'm working in Unix.
As a data-warehousing consultant I occasionally make forays into the land of Unix (usually Solaris). These tend to be for periods of 3-6 months where I set up directory structures, write the odd shell script, set up some ftp, etc. Occasionally I write some C or Java code. I then spend similar amounts of time where I don't go near a Unix box at all.
So I can remember the names of the major commands & utilities (e.g. vi, ls, rm) fine - but not all the option flags syntax etc. If I have a need for something less obvious, the arcane names used by Unix aren't that easy to remember. This is where this book comes in. The first section breaks down the major commands into groups (e.g. "comparisons") and the rest of the book gives concise info on the vast majority of commands you are likely to meet.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2009
I have been working with Unix Operating systems for quite a few years now and need to have a reliable accurate means of reference if a command doesn't come to mind or if the options being used didn't provide the results I was hoping for.
This book provides all this and much, much more. It gives the basic commands within the various shell environments, vi commands, awk, sed etc.
To use it effectively you need to have some knowledge in the first place but you don't need to be an expert by any means.
Whether a relatively new starter with the OS or seasoned user I heartily recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2001
An essential tool for people new to Unix. It shows what you need to know in an easy to understand format (as opposed to the format of the "man" pages!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 1999
This is a very usefull book, but you must already know something about UNIX or this one will not help you to start. Of course you can always read it from end to end, but it is designed to be a quick reference, to help you remember what are the right parameters for just that command... All in all, a very good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 November 2002
This is a great reference book for Unix and anyone that works with Unix should have it. Though, newbies should first become familiar with how Unix works or they will have problems finding the information they need from this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2000
I`ve got a few UNIX books already, but this one offers quick answers at a good price. I don`t recommend this to the novice UNIX user, but if you`ve had some exposure then this is the one to buy. Text editors - and everything else - are covered, without having to buy extra books on the subject. If money, time and shelf space are limited then you know what to do.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2008
iv just got the book unix in a nutshell in the post from amazon and im realy pleased with it,the cost was realy good value and the condition of the book is mint,as a new student in programming im realy happy with the content and am sure this will be a valuble book on my way to learning unix.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2001
If you're not a dummy and you need to migrate to UNIX quick then this is the book. Excellent as a reference as well. Best to get the right clone for your brand of UNIX.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)